Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Another one of those "what's your ruling" threads!

  1. #1
    bigfatbastard's Avatar
    bigfatbastard is offline PNW Amateur
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    477

    Question Another one of those "what's your ruling" threads!

    A situation came up at a live tournament "the other day" as it were:

    Five players remaining, blinds are 3K/6K.
    It goes fold, fold, and then the button raises it up to 17K.
    This is where a strange and unfortunate thing happened.

    The dealer pulled folded the cards in, accidentally taking with them
    the button's cards as well. It was a pure accident, just "one of those
    things." The SB folds more or less simultaneously, but as it comes to
    the BB, the button exclaims "where's my cards?" drawing the
    attention of all at the table that he had no cards.

    The BB looks up, waits for a few seconds, realises that he is the only
    one with "live" cards at the table and calls for a formal ruling.

    If you are the TD, what do you do?
    What is your ruling?

    btw: This is not a blame game situation, so for the sake of this
    particular situation forget about the dealer's actions, they were purely
    accidental and not (really) relevant to the eventual outcome.
    (there is a cause and effect, but ignore that, and just concentrate on
    the actual ruling itself - okay!)
    .

    Simply, what happens to the chips on the table . . . . who gets what?

    BFB

  2. #2
    John S is offline PNW Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    98

    Default Re: Another one of those "what's your ruling" threads!

    As far as i am aware the BB being the only player still with cards wins the chips.
    Same thing happened to a female in the WSOP. She had her aces pulled into the muck by dealer after going ai and was out of the tournament.
    You cant beat running shit

  3. #3
    thkcduckworth's Avatar
    thkcduckworth is offline Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, USA
    Posts
    2,486

    Default Re: Another one of those "what's your ruling" threads!

    Pretty sure the ruling is that the button sacrifices 6k, gets the 11k remaining back and the big blind wins the pot.

  4. #4
    pkrmonster is offline PNW Amateur
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    397

    Default Re: Another one of those "what's your ruling" threads!

    Quote Originally Posted by thkcduckworth View Post
    Pretty sure the ruling is that the button sacrifices 6k, gets the 11k remaining back and the big blind wins the pot.
    I thought they lost the lot, but this makes alot more sense and hopefully is the case.

    At the end of the day it is a players responsibility to protect their own cards, hence why a card protector is invaluable.

  5. #5
    THE FIDDLA's Avatar
    THE FIDDLA is offline PNW Grinder
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    659

    Default Re: Another one of those "what's your ruling" threads!

    Quote Originally Posted by pkrmonster View Post
    At the end of the day it is a players responsibility to protect their own cards, hence why a card protector is invaluable.
    Exactly, but only if you're sitting next to the dealer. Even then, I don't release my cards until the dealer pushes the chips in my direction if I win the pot.

    BB is the only live hand and therefore wins whatever is in the pot which includes the blinds. Plain and Simple!!!

    CHEERS

    JOEYTEZ

    P.S. In reality, there was technically no dealer error. It was the player's error. What was he doing at the time??? Looking at a chick walk past with nice tits??? Concetrate on the game and always protect your cards. I give you a bet this never happens to this player again!!!
    How could you call my all-in on that flop???
    Fucken Taxi Driver - YOU HIT EVERYTHING!!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •