Thread: Online money pit

Lunanick is offline PNW Railbird

Default Online money pit

this from pokernews.com written by a bloke who's been playing poker live for 26 years."I started playing online poker about two years ago. I had pneumonia and was bored to death sitting around the house for 2 weeks. I downloaded Party at that time and have since left it for Pokerstars. I have lost more money online than in the previous 2 decades. It is a tough go, this online poker. I read that 99% of the online players lose money in the longrun. I believe it. "full article here: http://www.pokernews.com/stories/114.htm

yoyo is offline PNW Elite

Default Online money pit

Although this paragraph puts me and about 50 people I know in that 1%, it's total garbage. The author has clearly never used a statistical program like PokerTracker. A *cursory* glance at compiled PT stats show that a lot more than 1% are long-term winners. This 'St. Angar' character would love to believe that 99% lose online as it makes his failures easy to deal with.He does have ONE thing right: "It is a tough go, this online poker."It certainly is a tough go. Online poker players these days are playing at a very high level in the mid/high limits. My win rates are in the green, but they are nothing to be proud of. If you are not a very bright, very disciplined player (or very lucky like me), you will get found out. I think the majority of losing players lose because they are undisciplined and/or playing limits too high for their skill level/bankroll. The rest just have no clue about how to play poker to win. I have a theory that if you are not adept at using PokerTracker and another program to overlay the stats on your opponents, you cannot beat 10/20 or higher online. I have not found someone who has proved my theory wrong yet. Everytime I meet someone who claims they are winning at 10/20 online but hasn't heard of PT, I find out that they are muppets. yoyo

danielg is offline PNW Elite