15 Remain at ANZPT Canberra

Posted at 00:38 2010-06-14

Aaron Benton, Hugh Cohen, Jason Gray, Rennie Carnevale, Andrew Scarf and Antonis “Toothpick Tony” Kambouroglou all remain in contention for the inaugural ANZPT Canberra title, as the tournament winds down towards yet another star-studded Australian circuit final table.

The action started with 90 players returning, combined from the day 1a and day 1b flights. Fast and furious was the order of the day with just 35 left standing by the time the players took their first break for the day. Predictably the tournament slowed significantly to a snail’s pace from here as players buckled down trying to secure themselves a share of the 21 money places on offer.

It would take the vast majority of the remainder of the day to get there, and in the end 15 players would be left standing, all of them Australian, heading into the final day of play tomorrow. Some big name players fell short of the money including Emad Tahtouh, Billy "The Croc" Argyros, Chris Levick, Joel Dodds, Brendon Rubie and Peter Aristidou.  Amanda Simpson fell on the bubble, after she lucked out against Rennie Carnevale. Simpson’s Kings would cop a beat from the Ace-King of Carnevale, to leave her short-changed, she wasn’t able to revive her stack from that point.

Overnight chip leader Sam Rotar would be forced to settle for a near-minimum cash $4,706. Other early money eliminations included Yann Pauchon, Mishel Anunu, and Ben Hyslop who all earned the minimum $3,620. While Peter Mitsopoulos and Bradley Bower jumped up to the next payout at $4,706.

But leading the pack into the final day will be Michael Chon with a sizeable stack of 827,000. John Maklouf sits second with 448,000, but both players may be looking over their shoulder at experienced professional Jason Gray who is third with 386,500. Full chip counts for the field are as follows:


Chip Count

Michael Chon


John Maklouf


Jason Gray


Rennie Carnevale


Aaron Benton


Andrew Scarf


Hugh Cohen


Adam Cameron


Antonis Kambouroglou


Phillip Batticiotto


Selina Bodel


Luis Pampliega


Martin Rodwell


Alan Al-hantosh


Chris Kittos


Play resumes tomorrow at 12.15pm.


Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Michael Chon has the chip lead with 15 left at ANZPT Canberra Michael Chon has the chip lead with 15 left at ANZPT Canberra

More recent articles