2008 APPT Sydney Day 3: Day of Champions Sees Sansi Out In Front

Posted at 03:18 2008-12-05
Day 1c of the 2008 PokerStars.net Asia Pacific Poker Tour Grand Final saw the largest field of the event flock to the Star City Casino in Sydney for their final chance at the $1 million first place prize.
It was a day for the champions, with 2003 World Champion Chris Moneymaker, 2005 World Champion Joe Hachem and reigning 2008 World Champion Peter Eastgate all taking their place in the field. They were joined by 2008 WSOP Europe Main Event Champion John Juanda, and each of the 2008 APPT Champions in Eddy Sabat, Yoshihiro Tasaka, Daniel Craker and Van Marcus.
Once again Australia’s finest were on show with Emad Tahtouh, Nik Lackovic, Tony Hachem, Scott Smith, Trung Tran, Karib Karib, Dory Zayneh, Karim Jomeen, Michael Guzzardi, Julius Colman and Brendon Edmonds all part of the 197 entrants on Day 1c. This took the total number of entrants for 2008 PokerStars.net APPT Sydney Grand Final to 477, which although down a little on last year, is still an impressive figure.
Pop star Brian McFadden grabbed some media attention but not for long as he became one of the first casualties of the day as Jay Huxley emerged as the early chip leader after flopping set over set.
Team PokerStars Pro Chris Moneymaker and Sydney young gun Brendan Edmonds also featured prominently in the chip counts as the day moved relatively slowly. The Hachems didn’t have a good day, as they both battled the short stacks before succumbing just short of the dinner break.
Carter Gill was fortunate to make it to dinner after winning a race just prior to the break when his pocket threes held against the ace-king of buddy Eddy Sabat. From there Gill motored through the evening session to find himself well placed by the end of the day.
In the end it was Manish Sansi who followed up his final table finish in Manila by claiming the title of chip leader with his impressive day accumulating over 100,000 in chips.
At the end of the day’s play there were 95 survivors with the top ten chip stacks as follows:
Manish Sansi - 103,600
Patrick Carron - 98,300
Wang Che Jung - 95,300
Dory Zayneh - 81,200
Jay Huxley - 72,900
Anthony Rafter - 68,600
Shane Moran - 68,100
Karim Jomeen - 66,800
Frits Van Beek - 65,800
Thadd Wolff - 62,900
Tomorrow the 217 survivors from day one action will return to the Star City Casino felt as they all come together in the same room for the first time. We expect to reach the money stage of the tournament tomorrow so stay tuned to PokerNetwork.com for our continued coverage from the 2008 PokerStars.net Asia Pacific Poker Tour Sydney Grant Final!


Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Manish Sansi Leads Day 1c Manish Sansi Leads Day 1c

More recent articles