2008 Victorian Poker Championships Day 11: Roy Bhasin Claims PLO Title!

Posted at 16:30 2008-08-14

Day 11 of the 2008 Victorian Poker Championships produced two contrasting events to appeal to players of all varieties. The day start with 27 of Australia’s finest players, taking part in Event #10: $5,200 Pot Limit Omaha. The field was pro-heavy and featured the likes of Lee Nelson, Billy “The Croc” Argyros, Gary Benson, Grant Levy, Julian Powell, Tino Lechich, Jason Gray and World Series of Poker PLO runner-up Jamie Pickering.


There was plenty of action early as several players utilized their free “rebuy” to take an early gamble and stay alive in the tournament. Early rebuys went used by Grant Levy, Sam Youssef, Paul Sitzoukis, Julian Powell and Van Marcus.


As the day continued the play slowed up as the players started to drop away. At the dinner break there were only ten of the original 27 players remaining with Jamie Pickering leading the way.


The final table formed in the early evening, although it was only the top five who were to be paid. Congratulations to Roy Bhasin who overcame Tino Lechich heads up to take down the trophy and the $54,000 first place prize. The final table results were as follows:


1st – Roy Bhasin $54,000
2nd – Tino Lechich $32,500
3rd – Sam Khouiss $21,600
4th – Jamie Pickering $16,200
5th – Harris Pavlou $10,800


The second event of the evening was the highly popular Event #11: $550 No Limit Holdem Teams event with 131 teams filling the Crown Poker Room. Teams of two players would alternate play each level until the final table where they would alternate each orbit.


The Crown Poker Room was full of energy as the players gathered on the rail to exchange bad beat stories and rail their partners. In the end 20 teams reached the money stage with the winners walking away with $16,375 in prize money. The final table results were as follows:


1st – Jarrad Dale & Peter Tsioustas $16,375
2nd – Minh Nguyen & Minh Nguyen $11,460
3rd – Paul Webster & Andrew Cadelin $7,205
4th – Paul Lucarelli & Archie Davis  $5,240
5th – Joel Feldman & Justin Berstein $3,930
6th – Luke Foster & Jason Valente $3,275
7th – Timothy Clarke & Tristan Bain $2,784
8th – Michael Barkho & Mark Bodagh $2,290
9th – Bong Vongsykeo & Searn Ear $1,801


Day 12 will see the high rollers hit the floor for Event #12: $10,200 High Stakes Holdem event. Once again we are expecting a small field that is full of Australia’s finest players, with a likely first place prize in excess of $100,000. The action kicks off at 12:30pm as the Poker Network team bring you all the action live from the floor.


Stay up to date with live updates at Live Reporting as well as Video Interviews with Australia's best poker players.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Van Marcus and Sam Khouiss Van Marcus and Sam Khouiss

More recent articles