2008 Victorian Poker Championships Day 9 - David Morton Saddles Up To Take H.O.R.S.E. Trophy!

Posted at 19:23 2008-08-12

Day 9 of the 2008 Victorian Poker Championships saw a world-class field of 46 players hit the felt at 12:30pm for Event #7: $1,100 H.O.R.S.E. With the five disciplines of Holdem, Omaha H/L, Razz, Stud and Stud Eight or Better, on show it was going to be a true test to find Australia’s best all around poker talent.

The field saw the likes of Lee Nelson, Van Marcus, Gary Benson, Peter Aristidou, Leo Boxell, Jamie Pickering, James Potter and Angie Italiano. Also in the field was 2005 World Champion Joe Hachem, 2008 Melbourne Championships H.O.R.S.E. winner Tim Marsters, and the winner of the first two H.O.R.S.E events in Australia, Billy “The Croc” Argyros.

It was a slow affair with the players even encouraging the tournament staff to entertain the idea of skipping an early level to speed up play. As we reached a final table of eight players we were still two places away from the money. David Morton held a commanding chip lead with five players all desperately short as the games of cat and mouse emerged to see who would bubble.

In the end it was Billy “The Croc” who added another H.O.R.S.E final table to his belt but couldn’t collect the cash as he was eliminated in 8th place, followed by Peter Antil in 7th.

In the end it was Trung Tran and David Morton who went heads-up for the trophy in a fierce battle where the chip lead fluctuated as wildly as the blinds. After 14 hours of play and two hours of the heads-up war, it was David Morton who emerged victorious collecting $16,100 for his efforts.

Here were the final standings:

1st - David Morton $16,100
2nd - Trung Tran $11,040
3rd - Brian Hull $7,360
4th - Graeme Woodbine $5,060
5th - Joe Hachem $3,680
6th - Roy Bhasin $2,760

Also last night saw the running of Event #8: $340 Camp Quality Cup where $100 out of every entry would be donated to Camp Quality. The 90 entrants created a prize pool of $18,000, and was believed to include TV personality Jason Coleman who is a judge on Channel Ten's "So You Think You Can Dance". It's rumoured that Coleman played one hand, stood and declared that the "energy was not right for him" and walked out of the room! The other players solidered on and here are the final results:

1st - Faisal Mirza $5,040
2nd - Luis Pampliega $3,420
3rd - Paul Webster $2,250
4th - Vito Montalto $1,800
5th - Searn Ear $1,440
6th - Peter Mobbs $1,170
7th - Jason White $990
8th - James Currie $810
9th - James Dryden $630
10th - David Penny $450

Tomorrow should provide plenty of highlights as the aggressive short-handed players take to the felt in Event #9: $1,100 No Limit Holdem 6-Handed. Join us tomorrow from 12:30pm as the PokerNetwork team brings you all of the live action at http://www.pokernetwork/reporting.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Trung Tran Trung Tran

More recent articles