2010 Pokerama Australian Deaf Poker Championships Review

Posted at 21:46 2010-10-12

The cream of the Australasian poker crop may have all been at the Crown Poker Room this weekend, but by the time they had finished Day 1 of the ANZPT Melbourne Main Event, Sydney’s Daniel Bachi had already been declared the 2010 Australian Deaf Poker Champion.

74 players, all either deaf or hard-of-hearing, made their way to The Local Port Melbourne from all around the country to participate on Saturday. The atmosphere was as lively and as exciting as any major tournament (albeit almost silent) and after a warm welcome from Deaf Poker Australia President Sokong Kim, the action got underway just after 2pm AEDST.

The first player to go was Melbourne’s own Thomas Andrews, who had only just learned how to play at Friday’s free Welcome Night, but it wasn’t a quick bustout by any means, as it took almost an hour to reach that point and another good 30 minutes after that to break down the first table.

Despite the comparatively low buy-in amount of $30, the standard of play truly reflected a world-class event, with the community spirit of a pub poker event, as many players from Sydney and Adelaide had special team shirts made up especially for this event. The dealers and staff also got into the spirit of the game, taking the time to learn some basic AUSLAN signs in order to communicate to the players.

By the time the dinner break came around at 6.30pm, only 32 players remained and they all fought tooth-and-nail for one of the nine spots on the final table (which was also an in-the-money finish). When the final table was reached, the players each introduced themselves to the six-deep rail in AUSLAN and were all presented with a gold medal to mark their achievement.

New South Wales dominated the final table with five players - in fact the top four players all play in the same deaf basketball team aptly named, “The Poker Kings”. Two players from South Australia both made the final table and were also the highest-placed females in the tournament, while Queensland and Victoria both had one player each. In the end, it was Daniel Bachi defeating Sokong Kim heads-up after his {Ad}{Kh} held against Kim’s {Ks}{Qd} all the way down a board of {6d}{3d}{4s}{8h}{5s}.

Bachi received the 2010 Australian Deaf Poker Championship bracelet and $474 in prizemoney. All the top three players also received merchandise packs, courtesy of Full Tilt Poker. Congratulations to all!

2010 Pokerama Australian Deaf Poker Championship (74 entries, nine players paid)

1 Daniel Bachi (NSW) $474
2 Sokong Kim (NSW) $296
3 Matthew Hayman (NSW) $178
4 Micheal Shepherd (NSW) $148
5 Tanya Morgan (SA) $118
6 Luke Ellis (NSW) $89
7 Khari Sou (VIC) $74
8 Stacey Reilly (SA) $59
9 Peter Best (QLD) $44

Deaf Poker Australia would like to thank Pokerama, The Local Port Melbourne, Deaf Australia, Victorian Council of the Deaf and PokerNetwork for their unwavering support. Pokerama also wishes to convey their gratitude to all their staff for their dedication and hard work, without which, this event would have never have happened. 

Special thanks from all of us also go out to Andrew Oataway and Dennis Huntly for their contributions to the event, and a very special thanks to Wendy Boase, who kindly volunteered her services as the Official Tournament Interpreter. For more information on what’s happening in and around the Australian deaf poker community, log onto

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

L to R: Matthew Hayman (third place), Daniel Bachi (champion), Sokong Kim (runner-up) L to R: Matthew Hayman (third place), Daniel Bachi (champion), Sokong Kim (runner-up)

Related Articles

More recent articles