2015 Aussie Millions Main Event: Rast Headlines Final Table; Ivey and Barer Miss Out

Posted at 21:00 2015-01-31 by Chad Holloway

The 2015 Aussie Millions Poker Championship Main Event began with 668 players, but now only seven remain in contention for the AU$1.6 million first-place prize.

Aussie Millions Main Event Day 4

The man best positioned to capture the title is James Rann, who leads the final table with 4.085 million. However, six men stand between him and victory including two-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner Brian Rast and established online pro Richard "nutsinho" Lyndaker.

Day 4 saw 30 players return to action and it didn't take long for action to heat up as 11 players hit the rail in the first level of play. Among those to fall were Mike "Timex" McDonald (30th), Michael Pedley (27th), Jonathan Roy (26th), and Stevan Chew (25th), all of whom took home AU$30,000.

In Level 20 (6,000/12,000/2,000), the world's most feared poker player, Phil Ivey, saw his Main Event run cut short courtesy of Australia's Anthony Legg. It happened when Ivey opened for 26,000 on the button and then called Legg's three-bet to 63,000 from the small blind. The {4-Hearts}{q-Hearts}{3-Hearts} flop saw Legg bet 79,000, Ivey raised, and Legg three-bet all in. Ivey called off and the cards were turned up.

Ivey: {q-Diamonds}{k-Hearts}
Legg: {a-Hearts}{k-Diamonds}

Ivey got it in good with top pair, but his flush draw was no good as Legg held the ace of hearts. That's what made the difference as the {9-Hearts} turn gave both players a flush. Ivey rapped the table as the dealer put out the {7-Diamonds} river and then took his leave from the tournament in 23rd place for AU$40,000.

From there, Tony Hachem (22nd – AU$40,000), Michael Addamo (21st – AU$40,000), Ryan Yu (20th – AU$20,000), Jan Suchanek (19th – AU$40,000), Jesse "OnTheMac" McKenzie (18th – AU$55,000), Andrew Chen (16th - $AU55,000), and defending champ Ami "UhhMee" Barer (11th – AU$95,000) all hit the rail.

The 2015 Aussie Millions Final Table

1Joel Douaglin3,935,000
2Lennart Uphoff3,595,000
3Richard Lyndaker1,200,000
4Manny Stavropoulos2,115,000
5James Rann4,085,000
6Brian Rast1,185,000
7Anthony Legg3,290,000
Follow Chad Holloway on Twitter

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Aussie Millions Main Event 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event 2015

More recent articles