Adam Cusenza Wins SKYCITY Poker Zone Autumn Classic

Posted at 23:00 2012-05-28 by Matthew Pitt

The SKYCITY Poker Zone Autumn Classic Main Event came to a thrilling conclusion over the weekend when Adam Cusenza walked away with the title of champion, the trophy and the $22,210 first place prize.

There were four starting flights for this superb event and by the time registration had come to a close on Day 1d the total number of entrants stood at 177. These poker hopefuls were whittled down to just 21 players for the official Day 2; all of whom had made it through to the money places.

The final day only took six hours from start to finish, with Ben Lee-Wright's exit starting off a flurry of eliminations. He was followed out of the door by Craig Ivey, Patrick Healy and Robert Odlum before Sandy Retallick, Tony DiSalvio, Frank Tripody and Piyush Gupta were also taken care of. Then when Long Tran, Joe Sandaev, Omid Samimi and Ross Lepro were all busted out the final table was set.

1Simon Beshara439,000
2Adam Cusenza835,000
3Ryan Boswell265,000
4John George795,000
5Eddie Schwertd200,000
6Jonathan Karamalikis232,000
7Matthew Guilleaume207,000
8Matthew Pearson880,000
9Peter Antoniou364,000


Each of the final table members were guaranteed at least $2,370 for their efforts and the first player to pick up this amount was Peter Antoniou; the ninth place finisher. Ryan Boswell was the next to go and when Jonathan Karamalikis busted in seventh place the tournament became a short-handed affair.

Matthew Guilleaume fell in sixth before Eddie Schwertd and John George both saw their tournaments come to an abrupt end and when Matthew Pearson became the third place finisher it was up to Simon Beshara and Cusenza to fight it out for the glory.

The last hand of the tournament saw all the chips go into the middle of the felt with the board reading {Q-}{10-}{4-}{7-} with Beshara holding {q-}{j-} and needing to spike a jack and only a jack because Cusenza held a dominating {a-}{q-}. The river bricked off, Beshara busted out and Cusenza was announced as the SKYCITY Poker Zone Autumn Classic Champion.

SKYCITY Poker Zone Autumn Classic Final Table Payouts

1Adam Cusenza$22,210
2Simon Beshara$13,590
3Matthew Pearson$7,770
4John George$5,830
5Eddie Schwertd$4,960
6Matthew Guilleaume$4,100
7Jonathan Karamalikis$3,240
8Ryan Boswell$2,800
9Peter Antoniou$2,370

Image thanks to the Poker Zone Facebook page

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

Play in $30,000 worth of freerolls with the Winner Wednesday Dozen promotion!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Adam Cusenza Adam Cusenza

Related Articles

More recent articles