Andrew Gaw Leads As APT Philippines Main Event Reaches Final 27

Posted at 11:15 2013-04-23 by Matthew Pitt

The Asian Poker Tour Philippines Main Event has just gotten a lot more serious after Day 2 saw the field whittled down to the final 27 players. Each of the survivors are now in the money and they are being led by Andrew Gaw and his 316,000 chips.

Gaw is a Philippines native and is doing all he can to see that the APT Philippines trophy stays on home soil. Gaw adopted a slow but steady approach on Day 2, constantly accumulating chips in an efficient and deadly fashion. He won a large pot with {J-Diamonds}{5-Diamonds} on a {J-Clubs}{8-Spades}{4-Spades}{8-Diamonds}{Q-Diamonds} board not long after catching SJ Kim bluffing on the river of a {2-Spades}{3-Clubs}{7-Clubs}{A-Clubs}{K-Diamonds} board. In that particular hand, Kim held just {Q-Spades}{7-Spades} and Gaw the {A-Spades}{4-Hearts}.

Standing between Gaw and an APT title are some of the region’s most talented poker players. Hot on Gaw’s heels in second place is Nam Le on 294,500 chips. Le is a fearless player whose aggressive style has seen him win close to $6,500,000 from live poker tournaments – including a World Poker Tour title.

Also well-chipped are the likes of Japan’s Yosuke Sekiya (293,000), Jordan Westmorland (196,000), Stephen Chidwick (161,500) and Dan Kelly (154,500). The current Asia Player of the Year, Sam Razavi, is still in the tournament but his 54,000 chips see him start 26 from the 27 runners.

Play in the APT Philippines Main Event resumes at 13:00 local time and will continue until the eight-handed final table is decided. Each of the returning players will each take home US$5,500 for their efforts thus far, with a final table appearance will see that cash amount increase to a more substantial US$14,900.

Tune into PokerNetwork on Wednesday to discover which players have progressed to the grand finale and which of them fell by the wayside.

APT Philippines Start of Day 3 Top 10 Chip Counts

1stAndrew Gaw316,000
2ndNam Le294,500
3rdSekiya Yosuke293,000
4thKhac Trung Tran257,500
5thMoses Saquing217,500
6thJordan Westmorland196,000
7thPakihal Lisawad192,500
8thRiyadh Fawaz190,500
9thThang Truong176,000
10thTam Truong176,000

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Andrew Gaw Andrew Gaw

Related Articles

More recent articles