Annette_15 and xMONSTERxDONGx Win Titles at Aussie Millions!

Posted at 12:29 2010-01-22

The 2010 Aussie Millions is starting to heat up with tournament drawcards Annette Obrestad and Jonathan Karamalikis the latest to collect the coveted Aussie Millions Championship Gold Ring after victory in recent events.

Annette “Annette_15” Obrestad overcame a field of 160 players on Wednesday evening to emerge victorious in the $1,100 Pot Limit Omaha event. It was a talented final table, with Obrestad entering third in chips, but once she took the lead it was full steam ahead for this poker protégé.

The end came when Billy Seri took {Kh}{8d}{Jc}{9h} up against Obrestad’s {Kc}{Jd}{Jh}{2s} with Obrestad’s jacks holding up on a board of {Ac}{9c}{ah}{2c}{Tc}.

Final Table Results:
1st Annette Obrestad - $40,000
2nd Billy Seri - $31,200
3rd Ryan Gutch - $22,800
4th Oliver Gill - $17,600
5th Con Angelakis - $11,200
6th Emad Tahtouh - $8,800
7th Paul Taylor - $6,400
8th Tony Bloom - $4,800
9th Michael Sampieri - $3,200

Meanwhile the $1,650 No Limit Holdem Bounty Event drew a massive field of 381 players to the Crown Poker Room for this unique and popular event. With a bounty worth $1,000 at every table, the tournament switched to a Shootout format once the field reached 32 players.

Jonathan “xMONSTERxDONGx” Karamalikis entered the Shootout phase second in chips but powered through his first table to head to the final table with the chip lead. It was another high quality final table with 2007 APPT Sydney champ Grant Levy eliminated in 5th place and high roller David Steicke departing in 4th place – his second 4th place result for the series.

Karamalikis had a sizable lead heads-up and didn’t take long to finish off Steve Friedlander. On a flop of {5c}{Js}{7h} Karamalikis checked and Friedlander bet 75,000. Karamalikis check-raised to 175,000 before Friedlander moved all in. Karamalikis made the call with {Jd}{9h} for top pair which was in great shape against Friedlander’s {7d}{9c}. The {4c} turn and {2h} river completed the board to give Karamalikis his first major live poker title.

Final Table Results:
1st Jonathan 'xMONSTERxDONGx' Karamalikis - $122,700
2nd Steve Friedlander - $80,025
3rd David Lacchia - $53,350
4th David Steicke - $42,680
5th Grant Levy - $32,010
6th Brian Payne - $21,340
7th Mick Norton - $16,005
8th Luke Abolins - $10,670

The other event held yesterday was the $1,100 HORSE which was surprisingly wrapped up on one day. Originally scheduled as a two day event, the 91-player field dropped away at a rapid rate and the tournament staff made the decision to power through until a champion was crowned.

The final table didn’t have the big names we were used to, but there were a few talented mixed games players amongst them. PokerNetwork's Rob Campbell and Tim Marsters fell in 7th and 6th place while Oliver Gill added another final table for this series with his 4th place finish. In the end it was Rabii Maatouk who made three nines in a hand of Stud to better the pair of jacks of Paul Ramondetta, to claim the title and first place prize money!

Final Table Results:
1st Rabii Maatouk - $27,300
2nd Paul Ramondetta - $20,020
3rd Rostislav Tsodikov - $14,105
4th Oliver Gill - $9,555
5th Andrew Brown - $7,735
6th Tim Marsters - $5,915
7th Rob Campbell - $4,095
8th Matt Grapenthien - $2,275

The next event of the 2010 Aussie Millions schedule is the $1,150 No Limit Holdem with Rebuys event. While rebuys are going out of fashion somewhat, it’s exciting to see a rebuy event part of this series which should prove popular to players and fans alike. To catch all the live action, log in to the Live Reporting on PokerNews.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Jonathan Karamalikis Wins Bounty Feature Event! Jonathan Karamalikis Wins Bounty Feature Event!

More recent articles