ANZPT Auckland Day 2: Amant Nauhria Leads Final 12

Posted at 21:41 2013-11-23 by Tim Duckworth

The penultimate day of the Australia New Zealand Poker Tour (ANZPT) Auckland Main Event saw 105 players return to the SKYCITY Auckland Casino to battle down an expected final table of nine.

With 10 levels scheduled for the day, reaching the final table might have been a little ambitious, but everyone knows that anything can happen in a poker tournament. Players did their best to help the tournament progress quickly as eliminations happened at a swift rate as 2009 APPT Auckland Champion and 2010 WSOP bracelet winner Simon Watt led the notables that fell to the rail in the early goings.

David Lim saw his stack soar upwards to snatch the chip lead but only after he got lucky when he flopped quads with {Q-}{Q-} against an opponent’s {A-}{A-}. Daniel Levy, Iori Yogo and Bryan Huang would all stumble to the rail as the tournament progressed down to the dinner break with 38 players remaining. Although cashing in six previous tournaments held in New Zealand, PokerStars Team Pro Huang was unable to make it lucky number seven after triple barrel bluffing with {A-Spades}{10-Spades} on a {K-Hearts}{5-Spades}{7-Hearts}{J-Diamonds}{2-Diamonds} board only to be called by an opponent’s {K-Diamonds}{10-Diamonds}.

Once play resumed, Constantin Harach ran his kings into aces to hit the rail as Koray Turker and Jan Suchanek joined him on the sidelines as the final three tables were set with players being just a handful of eliminations from the money. Day 1a chip leader Eric Chang would fall two spots shy of the money in 26th before Melbournian Dean Blatt committed his final chips with {Q-Spades}{J-Clubs} only to have Slade Fisher make the call with {Q-Diamonds}{8-Diamonds}. The {A-Hearts}{3-Diamonds}{7-Spades}{A-Clubs}{8-Spades} board saw Fisher spike a devastating river for Blatt as he earned the title of ANZPT Auckland bubble boy.

With the final 24 players guaranteed NZ$3,834 it would be Day 1b chip leader Anesone Bragouits and Day 1c chip leader Amant Nauhria leading the top few chip counts like they did on their opening flight days. As players began falling to the rail it would be Chris Ozer causing a stir after supposedly angle shooting and consequently being issued a two-orbit penalty that virtually saw him blinded out. As play ticked into the final level of play with 16 players remaining, play would be cautious as everyone looked to reach the final day of play. Once the final hand was dealt, it would be Nauhria leading the remaining 12 players with an impressive 1,431,500 - over 170 big blinds heading into the next level.

Table 8

1La Rimamaki65,500
2Stanislav Chataline241,500
3David Lim1,012,000
4Raybon Kan81,500
5Amant Nauhria1,431,500
6Dean Stevenson188,500

Table 9

1Nicolas Oger323,000
2Paul Gahan179,500
3Brad Stafford75,000
4Jason Cook119,500
5Nathan Gubieski210,500
6Angela Brewster143,500

Lim is the only other player in the seven-figure club, but it is still anyone's tournament to win once player's shift their focus on firstly making the final table before eyeing the NZ$110,760 first prize. The final day of play is set to begin at 12:30 p.m. local time with the final 12 players playing until the 2013 ANZPT Auckland Main Event Champion is crowned at the SKYCITY Auckland Casino.

*Image courtesy of Poker Asia Pacific.

Stay up-to-date with all the latest PokerNetwork news and updates through our social media outlets by liking our Facebook page and following us on Twitter. PokerNetwork … the home of poker in Australia and New Zealand!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Amant Nauhria Amant Nauhria

Related Articles

More recent articles