ANZPT Sydney: Dong Does It Again!

read Read  

April 22 2010

Written to Australian poker news by TassieDevil

Syndicate content | 0 comments


"Jonathan Karamalikis Wins ANZPT Sydney High Rollers"
April 22, 2010

A beautiful Autumn day in Sydney greeted players who made their way to the Star City Casino Poker Room for the commencement of the 2010 ANZPT Sydney Main Event. The room was pumping with two other events running and a big PLO cash game that ran all night and broke at 4pm the next day!

There were many big names in attendance amongst the 164 Day1 starters including Andrew Jeffreys, Chris Levick, Kristian Lunardi, Rennie Carnevale, Nik Lackovic, Karl Krautschneider, Simon Watt, Aaron Benton, Scott Smith, Bill Jordanou, Eric Assadourian, Brendon Rubie, Donna Ciric, Jay Kinkade, Trung Tran, “Toothpick Tony”, Billy “The Croc” Argyros, Todor Kondevski, Brendan Edmonds and Ricky Kroesen.

At the end of the day four players held over 100,000 in chips, with Shannon Chapman out in front with 123,500. He is closely followed by Ricky Kroesen with 123,000 and Brad Bower with 113,400. PokerStars Team Australia Pro and Star City Poker Ambassador Eric Assadourian was in good shape early but was eliminated in the last hour of play.

71 players survived to reach Day 2 action which will commence on Friday.

While the Main Event was in full swing, arguably the highlight of the day was the conclusion of the $10,200 High Rollers Event. Jeff Lisandro, Billy 'The Croc' Argyros, Jarred 'FlopNutsOnYou' Graham, Ben 'CNT_CRUSHER' Delaney, Jay 'SEABEAST' Kinkade and Van Marcus were amongst the 29 players who started the event, but that field had been reduced to just eight by the end of the first day. When play resumed today there would be a further three eliminations until the players reached the money, as Tolly Sakellariou, Jason Gray and Michael Guttman went home empty-handed.

Matthew Kirk, Emanuel Seal and Peter Aristidou filled out the minor placings as the crowd gathered to watch an enthralling heads-up battle between home town hero and Team PokerStars Australia Pro Grant Levy, and online sensation and newly-signed Full Tilt Red Pro Jonathan Karamalikis.

“xMONSTERxDONGx” had a huge chip advantage, and while Levy found one double up, he wasn’t able to complete the comeback when he moved in with pocket fours, only to see Karamalikis make the call with pocket fives. The board was spread 2 clubsQ diams2 spadesQ spadesJ clubs and Karamalikis claimed the trophy and a whopping $116,000 in prize money!

1st Jonathan 'xMONSTERxDONGx' Karamalikis   $116,000
2nd Grant Levy $68,150
3rd Peter Aristidou $49,300
4th Emanuel 'Curly' Seal $33,350
5th Matthew Kirk $23,200

Meanwhile the $330 Tony Hachem Feature Event reached an exciting conclusion with Michael Levy capturing the title. Levy overcame Jesse McKenzie heads-up when his full house was too good to collect the $20,832 prize.

1st Michael Levy $20,832
2nd Jesse McKenzie $12,648
3rd Richard Skaf $6,696
4th David Rodwell $5,208
5th Chris McFarlane $4,090
6th Brett Chalhoub $3,348
7th Marshall Harmon $2,604
8th Darren Grant $1,860
9th Tommy Yi $1,488
10th Michael Comfos $1,116

Tomorrow the PokerNetwork Live Reporting team will be back on the floor of the Star City Casino as Day 1b of the ANZPT Sydney Main Event kicks off.  Join us for our live updates from 12:30pm.

Bookmark and Share AddThis Feed Button mostviewed Send to Friend print Print  

Related articles

Poker Break

Poker Humour


Play Poker At PokerStars

Signup to PokerStars via our special PNW links, use our unique PokerStars Marketing Code POKERNETWORK and you will be eligible for a 100% up to $600 deposit bonus - In addition to this, you will be eligible to play in our exclusive freerolls that award seats to events such as the ANZPT and APPT.

Download PokerStars now!


SitemapPrivacy policyDisclaimer © 2010 PokerNews Ltd. All rights reserved