ANZPT Sydney Main Event Kicks Off!

Posted at 16:18 2010-04-21

Australia’s finest have all made their way to the harbour city and the Star City Casino as the 2010 PokerStars.net ANZPT Sydney Championships are in full swing with the highly anticipated Main Event set to kick off this afternoon.

However for those who arrived early, there have been a fantastic range of preliminary events to entertain players of all budgets and poker disciplines.

It all kicked off last Thursday with the $330 Opening Event attracting a massive 494 players, who hit the felt in a huge show of support for the popular ANZPT series as Mitchell Cunningham captured the first trophy of the series and $37,050 in prize money.

Event #2 was the $440 Semi Shootout Event and produced an interesting final table featuring Andrew “Adgee” Jeffreys (7th), Ricky Kroesen (6th), Ali Ghezelbash (5th) and Rafe Aman (3rd). In the end it was Zhanghua Chen who emerged victorious to claim the $13,056 first place prize.

6-Handed No Limit is always a popular format and 175 players agreed as they ponied up the $550 entry fee. Once again it was a tough final table as Daniel Neilson (6th), Zhi Hong Ma (5th), Brendan Rubie (3rd) and Mark Iskander (2nd) filled out the minor placings with Esan Tabrizi winning the title and $27,125 in prize money.

Rick Kroesen made his second final table of the series in the $330 Pot Limit Omaha event, eventually finishing in 9th place as Jymmi Briggs (7th) and Alex Horowitz (4th) also finished in profit. Barry Forrester took down the title and $9,504 in prize money as he overcame the 99-player field.

Last night saw two events reach the final table with the hugely popular $330 Tony Hachem Feature Event and the $10,200 High Rollers Event set to resume proceedings later today.

Here’s how the final table of the Tony Hachem Feature Event will lineup:

Seat 1: Jesse McKenzie (198,500)
Seat 2: Darren Grant (76,500)
Seat 3: Brett Chalhoub (203,000)
Seat 4: Michael Levy (214,500)
Seat 5: David Rodwell (277,500)
Seat 6: Marshall Harmon (207,000)
Seat 7: Tommy Yi (131,000)
Seat 8: Richard Skaf (153,500)
Seat 9: Michael Comfos (86,500)
Seat 10 Chris McFarlane (94,000)

The PokerNetwork Live Reporting team will be hard at work on the floor today as the PokerStars.net ANZPT Sydney Main Event kicks off, however we’ll also be providing some updates from both the Tony Hachem Feature Event and the High Rollers Event as they reach an exciting conclusion!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

PokerStars.net ANZPT Sydney Main Event kicks off! PokerStars.net ANZPT Sydney Main Event kicks off!

Related Articles