Aussie Millions Final Table Set - Australian Stewart Scott Leads!

Posted at 16:31 2009-01-24
Tomorrow Local Aussie poker player Stewart Scott will carry the hopes of a nation and a huge chip lead into the final table of the 2009 Aussie Millions Main Event. Scott’s day started from the middle of the field and he is set to make big challenge for the championship ring with roughly a third of the chips in play, and a two million chip advantage over his nearest competitor, Rajkumar Ramakrishnan.
28 players returned to the Crown Casino in Melbourne for Day 4 of the Main Event and slowly the players dropped away. 2009 WSOP November Nine member Kelly Kim was an early elimination when he pushed all in with his all-too-familiar short stack with pocket fours. He was called by Dixon Ruecker with pocket eights. Kim pumped his fists when he made a set on the window card, but the turn card brought an eight to send Kelly home with no help from the river.
WSOPe world champion and online sensation Annette Obrestad could not find the right spots all day and was eliminated in 21st place ($50,000) when she moved in with {9c}{9s} but was called by Rajkumar Ramakrishnan’s {Jh}{Jc}. The flop did not help Obrestad with the turn producing a set for Ramakrishnan.
Another Aussie hopeful, Grant Levy, bit the dust when he lost a race to Stewart Scott. Levy moved all in with his pocket nines and was called by Scott’s {Ac}{Kh}. The flop gave Scott plenty of outs as it fell {Qs}{Qd}{Js}, including the {Jd} which hit the turn to counterfeit Levy’s hand. A river {2c} could not save Levy as he headed to the rail in 13th place ($65,000). Scott would continue to knock out other players to constantly surge to a monster chip lead as we approached the final table bubble.
Annica Ivert also missed the final table when she pushed all in with {Ad}{Qd} against Barny Boatman who tabled {Kd}{6d}. The flop of {7h}{8h}{9s} brought Boatman a straight draw. The turn was the {6h} to give Boatman the lead and with the river {Jd} Ivert left the field as the last woman standing at 11th place.
Play tightened up as the field grew short-handed and approached the final table, but finally Tino Lechich busted in 10th place ($80,000). Rajkumar Ramakrishnan, who was running hot all day pushed all in to challenge Lechich with {As}{4s}. Lechich called with {Ad}{Ks} to be well in front. The flop swung the hand back towards Ramakrishnan when it came {Qs}{7s}{9s}. The {5s} on the turn left Lechich drawing dead as Ramakrishnan made a flush and moved to near the top of the chip count leader board.
Zach Fellows was eliminated in 9th place ($100,000), and staff made a decision to change the final table to eight handed instead of seven handed so that everybody could get a good night’s sleep and avoid a long final table bubble. The final seating and chip counts are as follows:
Seat 1: Zach Gruneberg - 1,355,000
Seat 2: Barny Boatman - 349,000
Seat 3: Elliot Smith - 1,120,000
Seat 4: Richard Ashby - 658,000
Seat 5: Stewart Scott - 4,520,000
Seat 6: Peter Rho - 2,420,000
Seat 7: Rajkumar Ramakrishnan - 2,050,000
Seat 8: Sam Capra - 1,161,000
The Aussie Millions Final Table recommences at 12:30pm tomorrow as we crown a new Champion and award the first place prize of $2 million!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Stewart Scott Leads Into Aussie Millions Final Table Stewart Scott Leads Into Aussie Millions Final Table

More recent articles