Aussie Millions Main Event Update; Leo Boxell Wins PokerPro Stud Title!

Posted at 10:23 2010-01-27

After three big day one flights, the 2010 Aussie Millions Main Event has attracted a field of 746 entrants creating a massive $7.46 million prize pool. 294 players still remain in the hunt for Aussie Millions glory, with the top 72 players to finish in the cash while first place will receive an incredible $2 million. The field is led by South Australian Pierre Aoukar who after a strong showing on Day 1c will enter Day 2 with 171,700 chips.

The last three days have seen a wealth of poker talent enter the Crown Poker Room with some memorable moments already. The railbirds were entertained all day by the Phil Ivey versus Tom Dwan firewords on Day 1a, with Billy “The Croc” Argyros thrown in for good measure, you couldn’t have hand-picked a tougher opening table.  Others hitting the felt included Gus Hansen, Barry Greenstein, Erick Lindgren, Howard Lederer and Jesse Metcalfe of Desperate Housewives fame. The celebs were also out in force on Day 1b with cricketing legend Shane Warne joined by fellow cricketer Dimitri Mascarenhas, boxing world champion Jeff Fenech and the comedic duo of Hamish and Andy. Unfortunately for most of them they didn’t enjoy too much success on the felt. Some of the other highlights included the battles of Van Marcus with Jay Rosenkrantz, and Dani Stern taking on Elliot Smith, while defending champ Stewart Scott was unable to make it back-to-back. Day 1c saw the local contingent perform strongly with Steve Topakas, Joel Dodds and Tony G with bike all having good days on the felt.

Day 2 action kicks off at 12:30pm local time with all the live update found at PokerNews.com.

In some of the other action from the Crown Poker Room, Dan Shak successfully overcame one of the toughest fields ever established to with the $100k Challenge and the first place prize of $1.2 million. All the talk was on Australian young gun Jonathan “xMONSTERxDONGx” Karamalikis who entered the final table as chip leader, but lost a big chunk of chips to Phil Ivey and departed in 7th place. Tony G made it to 5th place, while another Aussie, Bill Jordanou, had a great tournament to finish in 3rd place. Ivey went onto go heads up with Shak for the title, and got his money in good with {Ad}{Td} against Shak’s {Ac}{7c} but a seven on the flop was enough for Shak to grab the win.

1st Dan Shak - $1,200,000
2nd Phil Ivey - $600,000
3rd Bill Jordanou - $300,000
4th Tony Bloom - $200,000
5th Tony G - $100,000

In other preliminary results, Mike Watson was successful over a star-studded final table in Event #7: $1,150 No Limit Holdem with Rebuys. Australian support was for spin king Shane Warne, but he was first to go after running his pocket queens into Gary Benson’s pocket kings. Stewart Scott fell in 5th place, while James Obst entered the FT with a massive chip lead but exited in 4th place. It was left to Watson and Benson to duke it out, but whenWatson’s {8h}{8d} improved to a set against Benson’s {ac}{Jh}, the title was his.

1st Mike 'SirWatts' Watson - $129,920
2nd Gary Benson - $92,800
3rd Florian Langmann - $64,960
4th James 'Andy McLEOD' Obst - $46,400
5th Stewart Scott - $37,120
6th Manny Stavropoulos - $27,840
7th Antonio Fazzolari - $23,200
8th Stanley Hou - $18,560
9th Nicolas Faure - $13,920
10th Shane Warne - $9,280

Last night, one of the smaller events on the schedule delivered a big result as Australian poker stalwart Leo Boxell added an Aussie Millions Championship Ring to his impressive poker resume after winning the $550 PokerPro Seven-Card Stud Event. Boxell lead from go to woah and had no troubles on the speedy PokerPro machines. Boxell overcame Vincent “Wonky” Wan who was gunning for his second Aussie Millions title. Wan was short and made a stand with a pair of sevens on fourth street but they didn’t improve as Boxell’s split pair of jacks were enough to hand him the title.

1st Leo Boxell - $5,500
2nd Vincent Wan - $3,500
3rd Peter Smyth - $2,250
4th Con Angelakis - $1,250

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Leo Boxell Wins PokerPro Seven Card Stud title! Leo Boxell Wins PokerPro Seven Card Stud title!

More recent articles