Australian Poker Hall of Fame Presentation; Hachem Awarded Legend Status

Posted at 22:23 2009-01-14
Breezes bar in the Crown Casino was the host for the inaugural Australian Poker Hall of Fame Award Presentation where the who’s who of the Australian poker community gathered together this evening to recognize the achievements of eight of Australia’s most influential poker players and their contributions to the Australian poker industry.
Crown Poker Director of Tournament Operations Jonno Pittock, along with boxing legend Jeff Fenech inducted Billy “The Croc” Argyros, Gary Benson, Tony G, Joe Hachem Mel Judah, Jeff Lisandro, Lee Nelson, and unbeknownst to him, Maurie “The Master” Pears into the Australian Poker Hall of Fame.
One of these men also became the first ever Legend of Australian Poker, and that honour went to none other than our 2005 World Champion Joe Hachem.
Pittock shared a wonderful story of the buzz around the Crown Poker Room at the time of Hachem’s victory back in 2005.
“You could cut the air with a knife," Pittock said. "When I announced over the P.A. system that Joe had won the Main Event, it was like we all won it!"
Hachem then gave a poignant speech, appreciative of the longevity in the poker industry of his fellow inductees and about being “in the right place at the right time”.
We’ll have full video of the presentation ceremony as well as interviews with each of the Australian Poker Hall of Fame inductees for you shortly on PokerNetwork.com.
On behalf of PokerNetwork we congratulate the eight inductees and in particular Maurie “The Master” Pears for giving birth to the PokerNetwork website and his efforts to make the Australian Poker Hall of Fame such a success. May the tradition continue.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Joe Hachem - Inaugural Legend of Australian Poker Joe Hachem - Inaugural Legend of Australian Poker

More recent articles