Ben Invelito Claims High Stakes Holdem Title! Peter Sheary Leads Main Event

Posted at 03:10 2009-05-29
After the excitement of the conclusion of the ANZPT Melbourne Feature Event last night, the atmosphere in the Crown Poker Room reached new heights with a fresh buzz for the $5,200 High Stakes Holdem, followed by the opening flight of the 2009 Melbourne Poker Championships Main Event.
44 of Australia’s finest were first onto the felt at 12pm with the big prize money up for grabs. The field featured the likes of Billy Argyros, Michael Pedley, Tino Lechich, James Obst, Jonathan Karamalikis, Monica Nguyen, Celina Lin, Daniel Neilson, Ben Delaney and Aussie Millions champ Stewart Scott.
However from the first level we had a clear chip leader who was rarely challenged throughout the day. Ben Invelito flopped a set of jacks to crack his opponent’s pocket kings to jump out of the gates and he never looked back. Slowly they dropped away until the final five remained. Emanuel Seal dodged bullets on the bubble to sneak into the money as Julius Colman was the unfortunate bubble boy. Jai Kemp busted in 4th followed by Engin Gemci in 3rd place to leave Invelito heads-up with young gun and previous High Roller champion Jarred Graham. However Graham couldn’t overcome Invelito’s lead and succumbed in 2nd place to leave Invelito with the trophy and $100,000 in prize money!
Final Results:
1st Ben Invelito - $100,000
2nd Jarred Graham - $55,000
3rd Engin Gemci - $35,000
4th Jai Kemp - $20,000
5th Emanuel Seal - $10,000
Meanwhile the opening flight of the Melbourne Championships Main Event attracted 253 starters with 123 surviving the day without the need to repechage. They were lead by Peter Sheary with 129,500 in chips with Darko Balaban sitting in second place with 109,000. Tony Kociski (105,100), Bruno Portaro (101,100) and Colin Peckover (90,900) round off the top five.

Some of the other big names to make it through to Day 2 include Aleks 'Banana Thief' Brkovic (85,200), Ben 'CNT_CRUSHER' Delaney (82,600), Trung Tran (72,900), Chris Levick (70,600), Tony Hachem (61,300), Steve Topakas (60,000), Celina Lin (39,100) and Tino Lechich (26,800).
Day 1b should attract and equally large field tomorrow with all the action kicking off at 12:10pm. Stay tuned to PokerNetwork.com for full coverage!


Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Ben Invelito Wins High Stakes Holdem Event Ben Invelito Wins High Stakes Holdem Event

Related Articles

More recent articles