Brotha D Wins ANZPT Darwin Main Event!

Posted at 02:47 2010-10-31

Season 2 of the ANZPT has delivered a massive finale in Darwin, as Brotha D once again puts his name down in the poker history books.

Just last month, we reported on New Zealand’s godfather of hip hop as he triumph at the PokerStars.net APPT Auckland, after winning his seat in a celebrity satellite event. Back then he took four hours to defeat Tom Grigg. If we wind back to Day 1c of this event, Grigg said to D as the players took their seats, “Don’t take all my chips this time Brotha”. Indirectly, Brotha D has done just that, after collecting every last chip available to be crowned the inaugural ANZPT Darwin champion.

It would be Luke Edwards that he would defeat heads up this time, displaying a more rounded aggressive heads-up game. The champ had certainly learnt a lot from his previous heads up battle with Grigg and his game was hard to fault today.

Brotha D becomes the first player to win an APPT and ANZPT title and also the first non-Australian to take down an ANZPT. For his victory, the Kiwi adds a further $57,000 to his blossoming bankroll. Only a few days ago Brotha D took down the ANZPT Darwin $550 No Limit side event and is starting to make a habit of winning. In the past six weeks, the D has been on a major heater and his confidence is growing with each tournament he plays (and wins!).

The final day started with a stacked field as we lost Ben Savage (12th), Angelo Limanis (11th) and back-to-back Hash (10th) before we reached our official final table of nine.

Bruno Portaro splashed around early and was the first to hit the rail, followed by Adelaide’s Trevor Potts who ran into Brotha D’s pocket kings. It then took several hours for the next elimination as the players dug their feet in for the long haul.

Eventually something had to give and it was Billy “The Croc” Argyros who fell in 7th to open the floodgates as Anthony Flanagan (6th), Tim English (5th), Chris Levick (4th) and Jie Gao (3rd) all fell in rapid succession.

Meanwhile Luke Edwards had been able to finally get some momentum to get himself away from being the short stack after he disposed of Gao with a flush versus straight to jump into the chip lead as heads-up player commenced.

It was an intense heads-up dual with the lead swapping on several occasions and both players having opportunities to grab victory if the cards fell their way. But it the end Edwards’ last stand came when he shoved king-queen and was called by Brotha D’s ace-seven. An ace on the flop was enough for the hip hop king to claim a memorable victory.

ANZPT Darwin Final Results
1st Danny 'Brotha D' Leaoasavaii - $57,000
2nd Luke Edwards (PokerStars Qualifier) - $37,000
3rd Jie Gao (PokerStars Qualifier) - $21,500
4th Chris Levick (PokerStars Sponsored) - $18,000
5th Tim English - $15,000
6th Anthony Flanagan - $12,000
7th Billy "The Croc" Argyros - $10,000
8th Trevor Potts - $8,000
9th Bruno Portaro - $6,500
10th Tony Hachem (Team PokerStars Pro) - $5,000
11th Angelo Limanis - $5,000
12th Ben Savage (PokerStars Qualifier) - $5,000

* Image courtesy of PokerStars Blog

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Brotha D Wins PokerStars.net ANZPT Darwin Main Event! Brotha D Wins PokerStars.net ANZPT Darwin Main Event!

More recent articles