Bruno Portaro Leads Main Event Into Final Day

Posted at 13:37 2009-06-01
It was always going to be a long day at the 2009 Melbourne Poker Championships Main Event when 327 players survived through the opening flights and repechage day to reach Day 2 of this event. With 725 entrants in total, the $725,000 prize pool would only reach the top 63 players while 1st was set to collect an attractive $150,000.
Play moved relatively quickly in the early stages as the short stacks looked to gamble it up. When the bubble burst several notable players had reached the money stage with the likes of Roy Vandersluis, Jonathan Karamalikis, Karl Krautschneider, Billy Argyros, Trung Tran, Nali Kaselias and Ben Delaney all taking home a profit.
As the evening ticked over to 3am it was decided to call it quits with 19 players remaining so that we could all get some sleep before the sun rose.
The day was dominated by Bruno Portaro whose big pot style netted him 2.168 million chips and the honour of chip leader entering the final day of play. However we won’t have it easy, with ANZPT Melbourne final-tablist Kristian Lunardi and 6-Handed winner Aaron Tran breathing down his neck. Joining them in Day 3 action will be Sam Jessop, Terry Tserdanis, Steve Topakas, Luke Tsapazis, Sam Vakili and ANZPT Sydney final-tablist David Zhao.
Play will recommence at 2pm with the action to continue until a new champion is crowned!
Here’s the chip counts entering the final day of play:
Bruno Portaro - 2,168,000
Peter Sawitzki - 1,265,000
Kristian 'BadaBing' Lunardi - 1,220,000
Aaron Tran - 1,105,000
Mark Iskander - 1,090,000
Sam Jessop - 952,000
Tony Gurovski - 761,000
Tudor Kondevski - 706,000
Leonid Cai - 628,000
Guy Agostinelli - 609,000
Steve Topakas - 607,000
Terry Tserdanis - 595,000
Shoshiro Karita - 569,000
Michael O'Connell - 488,000
Luke Tsapazis - 381,000
Ricky Kroesen - 275,000
Sam Vakili - 259,000
David Zhao - 248,000
Peter Peeters - 100,000
Join us at 2pm as we bring the 2009 Melbourne Poker Championships to an exciting conclusion!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Bruno Portaro Leads Main Event Bruno Portaro Leads Main Event

More recent articles