Daniel Laidlaw Takes Down the 2013 Sydney Poker Champs Main Event

Posted at 12:30 2013-08-13 by Matthew Pitt

One week ago, Daniel Laidlaw came excruciatingly close to winning the Australian New Zealand Poker Tour Queenstown Main Event when he finished second to the Jonathan Bredin, himself a worthy champion. This weekend, Laidlaw put that disappointment behind him and replaced it with a joyous occasion by taking down the 2013 Sydney Poker Champs Main Event at the Star City Casino.

The $3,000 buy-in Sydney Poker Champs Main Event attracted 227 players across its two starting flights, which created an impressive prize pool that weighed in at $635,600. The lion’s share of the huge prize pool, $165,256 to be exact, was set aside for the lucky soul who won each and every one of the 4,540,000 chips that were in play.

Day 3, the final day’s play, started with 11 players and when Phi Yuu and Sailendra Sa busted, the final table of nine was set, with each of the finalists locking up a payout of no less than $15,980.

The first exit saw Michael Weiss lose his stack and Robert Spano, Michael Doodson, Brad Fowler and Kwong Phung followed him to the sidelines at various points in the afternoon. Fourth place went to Aaron Benton who walked away with $47,670 for his considerable efforts over the weekend, and once Benton had left the tournament area, the final three players discussed a deal that would see the remaining prize pool divided up between them.

Although the Star City website and Facebook page does not show the details of the deal, Laidlaw himself tweeted the three players agreed to a deal based on Independent Chip Modelling (ICM) that resulted in Laidlaw scooping $120,000. According to Laidlaw’s tweet, he won a blind flip between the trio to be crowned champion and to get his hands on the trophy.

At time of writing, PokerNetwork was unaware of the payouts second place Tony Kambouroglou and third placed Michael Kanaan received.

2013 Sydney Poker Champs Main Event Final table Results

1stDaniel Laidlaw$165,256
2ndTony Kambouroglou$104,875
3rdMichael Kanaan$59,110
4thAaron Benton$47,670
5thKwong Phung$39,725
6thBrad Fowler$33,370
7thMichael Doodson$27,013
8thRobert Spano$20,657
9thMichael Weiss$15,980

Payout table does not reflect the three-way deal reported in this article.

Laidlaw is in fantastic form at present and it would take a brave man to bet against him in the upcoming Macau Poker Cup Red Dragon Main Event that starts Wednesday.

Data from the Star City Facebook page was used to create this article.

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Daniel Laidlaw Daniel Laidlaw

Related Articles

More recent articles