England's Sam Razavi Wins APT Player of the Year Award

Posted 3 days 3 hours ago by Tim Duckworth

With the Asian Poker Tour (APT) season coming to a conclusion with the APT-RWM Iron Man Poker Challenge breaking a Guinness World Record for Longest Continuous Poker Tournament, the APT awarded their annual Player of the Year awards on Sunday evening.

Last year England’s Sam Razavi dominated the APT circuit by placing in the money 14 times while also winning three APT titles to be named the 2012 APT Player of the Year. Razavi’s 2013 would be even better as he placed in the money 21 times while collecting five APT titles to be named 2013 APT Player of the Year.

Razavi opened his year by winning the APT Cebu PHP 11,000 Pot Limit Hold’em / Pot Limit Omaha tourney before adding four cashes at APT Philippines. When Razavi headed to Macau in late July he would win two titles and reach five final tables capturing glory in a HK$3,300 No Limit Hold’em / Pot Limit Omaha and HK$3,000 Pot Limit Omaha tournament.

Less than a month later Razavi ventured to Korea and won two titles from three final tables which included victory in a No Limit Hold’em and No Limit Hold’em Rebuy. Then in October Razavi would head to Manila and win one title – while also finishing runner-up three times – from five final tables and six total cashes. His lone Manila victory would come in a PHP 11,000 Mixed Game – No Limit Hold’em / Pot Limit Omaha.

With Razavi showing dominance in the mixed hold’em and Omaha tournaments, his 2013 has seen him amass close to US$120,000 in winnings that puts his career earnings to roughly US$1.2 million.

2013 APT Player of the Year Standings

Rank Name Country Titles ITM Points
1st Sam Razavi England 5 21 1,935.20
2nd Maria Esdaile Philippines 1 15 1,216.70
3rd Tetsuya Tsuchikawa Japan 3 12 1,202.60
4th Kristian Faering Denmark 1 9 853.50
5th Yuri Ishida Japan 2 7 811.00
6th Sj Kim Korea 3 7 741.00
7th Jeon Seung Soo Korea 1 3 715.00
8th Czardy Rivera Philippines 1 1 640.00
9th Minsoo Kim Korea 0 4 607.00
10th Choi Byung Kyoo Korea 1 4 587.00

*Photo and information courtesy of the Asian Poker Tour.

Stay up-to-date with all the latest PokerNetwork news and updates through our social media outlets by liking our Facebook page and following us on Twitter. PokerNetwork … the home of poker in Australia and New Zealand!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

APT Player of the Year Sam Razavi APT Player of the Year Sam Razavi

Related Articles

More recent articles