Eric Assadourian wins the 2007 New Zealand Poker Championship

Posted at 07:00 2007-04-23
Sydney player Eric Assadourian has outlasted a field of over 100 players, including notable Australian and New Zealand players Gary Benson, Lee Nelson and reigning champion Alan Goodrum, to take out the 2007 New Zealand Poker Championship at Christchurch Casino. After being down to just $7500 in chips during the final days play, Eric eventually made the final table holding $54,000, “I used all my experience to win the tournament, but I was made to really work for it.” Eric also took out the Pot Limit Omaha title earlier in the week and is no stranger to the business end of tournaments. “When I made it to the final table I had one thing on my mind and that was to win the tournament. People kept folding around me and I was able to build up a decent amount of chips” says Eric. Assadourian adds the title of New Zealand Poker Champion to an already impressive resume that includes the 2006 Melbourne Poker Championship crown, where he battled 2005 World Series of Poker Champion Joe Hachem in a series of huge hands, and knocked him out in third place en route to the win.
In addition to the $100,000 first prize, Eric also wins a seat in the upcoming 2007 World Series of Poker. With the Melbourne Champs around the corner and the WSOP only 6 weeks away, we expect to keep seeing the name Eric Assadourian in lights for some time to come. Final table results were: Eric Assadourian $100,000 Richard Grace $60,000 Jan Suchanek $40,000 Constantin Harach $32,000 David Bradford $27,000 Nick Wright $21,000 Jovan Scekic $16,000 Mark Ericksen $13,100 Dean McIver $10,000 Matt Davidow $10,000 Helen Jurgens $10,000 Choon Won $10,000 Peter Field $8,000 Ivar Rivernaes $8,000 Dennis Huntly $8,000 Michael Balthazar $8,000

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Related Articles

More recent articles