Japan's Iori Yogo Wins 2013 ANZ Player of the Year

Posted at 14:09 2013-09-22 by PokerNetwork Staff

With Billy "The Croc" Argyros winning the recent PokerStars Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Main Event for $134,500, it simultaneously marked the end of the 2013 Australia and New Zealand (ANZ) Player of the Year race.

Since the inaugural season in 2009, the ANZ Player of the Year has rewarded the most consistent players throughout the season at qualifying ANZPT and APPT events. In 2009 Tony Hachem topped Chris Levick (2nd) and Joel Dodds (3rd) before going back-to-back the following year ahead of John Maklouf (2nd) and Andrew Scarf (3rd). However in 2011 it would Danny Chevalier taking the title ahead of Leo Boxell (2nd) and Jesse McKenzie (3rd) before Mishel Anunu would be crowned in 2012 ahead of Anthony Aston (2nd) and Didier Guerin (3rd).

There would be no repeat Champion in 2013 as Japan's Iori Yogo would be awarded the 2013 ANZ Player of the Year title edging out Luke Brabin and Michael Guzzardi (3rd).

Yogo began his run earlier this year with a runner-up finish in the ANZPT Perth Main Event for $72,000 before finishing 11th in the ANZPT Sydney Main Event. However Yogo wouldn't take the lead in the Player of the Year race until adding another runner-up finish; this time in the ANZPT Repechage Event in Melbourne, and following a few other player's results going his way, Yogo wound up locking up the title in the final APPT Melbourne Main Event.

2013 ANZ Player of the Year Standings

1stIori Yogo195.31
2ndLuke Brabin176.15
3rdMichael Guzzardi155.85
4thPravin Harji154.61
5thDejan Divkovic150.25
6thMichael Faderson147.14
7thIvan Zalac137.15
8thDaniel Neilson133.69
9thPatrick Healy128.45
10thDale Marsland122.65

For his win, Yogo claims a multitude of prizes which includes entry into the HK$100,000 Asia Championship of Poker Main Event, HK$25,000 Asia Championship of Poker Warm-up, and Yogo will be using these additional events as a springboard for more success which includes a a WSOP APAC final table, three cashes at the WSOP and a side event victory at ANZPT Perth that sees his 2013 cashes amount to roughly $300,000.

PokerNetwork would like to congratulate Iori on capturing the 2013 ANZ Player of the Year and wish the Japanese player continued success in the poker world!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

2013 ANZ Player of the Year Iori Yogo 2013 ANZ Player of the Year Iori Yogo

Related Articles

More recent articles