Joseph Allis Leads Final Table of New Zealand Poker Championships Main Event

Posted at 19:53 2010-04-17

Day two of the New Zealand Poker Championships saw 39 players returning to battle it out until a final table of nine was reached with everyone guaranteed a piece of the NZ$180,000 prizepool.


With the field spread over five tables it would be the young guns that would be the early victims Simon Watt and Yann Pauchon hitting the rail before Koray Turker would see his day end at the hands of Michael Spilkin and his runner-runner straight.


Next to go would be a few tournament veterans including Constantine Harach, APPT Sydney Champion Aaron Benton, Eric Assadourian and Dennis Huntly as reigning Champion Soren Eriksen soared up the leaderboard courtesy of a double up through James Honeybone.


Michael Pedley then doubled youngster Cole Swannick as Eriksen continued to soar being the first person to exceed the 100,000-chip mark only to be joined by Richard Lancaster, Michael Spilkin, Alfred Sabila and Joseph Allis soon after.


With the field cut down to just fifteen, play began to slow up immensely as players started to realise that they were only a few eliminations away from the money. Michael Pedley hit the rail just short of the money when his {As}{Kd} went down to Soren Eriksen’s {Qd}{Jd} before Thomas MacDonald became our unfortunate bubble boy when his Jacks were unable to improve against Joseph Allis’ Kings.


Final Table

Joseph Allis – 213,100


Michael Spilkin – 210,400


Cole Swannick – 161,600


Alfred Saliba – 129,800


Soren Eriksen – 129,400


Richard Lancaster – 107,000


James Honeybone – 57,100


Andrew Middleditch – 48,300


Mike King – 33,600



It’s anyone’s tournament to win tomorrow with all nine final table combatants just as likely to capture the first prize or exit in ninth.


To see how the final table plays out, make sure to stay locked onto PokerNetwork from 2:00pm local time as we provided all the live updates from the 2010 New Zealand Poker Championships Main Event Final Table!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

New Zealand Poker Championships Main Event New Zealand Poker Championships Main Event

More recent articles