Local Veteran Leo Boxell overcomes deficit to win APPT Melbourne

Posted at 04:15 2011-08-02

The 2011 PokerStars.net APPT Melbourne Main Event has finally come to a close and crowned its champion. It was over nine hours of tough play at the final table, with Aussie veteran Leo Boxell the last man standing and going home with the trophy and the hefty A$330,000 first place prize!


VIDEO: Our Nicole Pickering interviews the Winner + more videos from APPT Melbourne CLICK HERE


It is somewhat poetic that the first time the Asia Pacific Poker Tour made its way to Melbourne it would be won by a local boy, born and raised, and its hard to think of a more deserving player of the victory, with Leo Boxell a staple of the Australian poker industry for four decades and counting. 


The final table was a hectic ride with many players putting themselves in good position to take down a victory, however, when heads-up play was finally reached it was only Boxell and New Zealander Phillip Willcocks who were still in the running for the title.


An early hand in the heads-up battle left Willcocks with a big lead, when Boxell got his stack in preflop holding {2-Diamonds}{2-Hearts} and not being able to catch up against the {q-Spades}{q-Diamonds} of Willcocks. 


Boxell had some work to do with a 3-1 chip deficit, and that’s exactly what he did, managing to claw his way back to a chip lead and eventually winning the championship when he held {4-Clubs}{2-Spades} against the {j-Spades}{10-Hearts} of Willcocks, on a {2-Hearts}{q-Spades}{6-Spades}{4-Spades}{j-Hearts} board. When all the chips went in on the turn and Boxell tabled his hand, the rail watched on and erupted in applause as a champion was crowned when the river hit the felt.

More Leo Boxell and more Live Reporting content... 

View Leo Boxell's Player Profile and results history: HERE

Full hand by hand stories from the final table: HERE

More Final table Video and INterviews from the floor in Melbourne: HERE

Place Winner Sponsor Prize (AUD)
1 Leo Boxell 330,000
2 Phillip Willcocks 207,600
3 Steve Bouya 116,000
4 William Jones 88,600
5 Van Marcus 73,300
6 Michael Frydman 58,000
7 Eddie Mascardi 45,800
8 Jackson Zheng 36,700
9 Julius Colman 27,500
10 Aharon Shabtay 18,300
11 James Obst 18,300
12 Luke Edwards 18,300
13 Fabian Craib 15,300
14 Steven Calder 15,300
15 Michael Guzzardi 15,300
16 Aaron Lim 15,300
17 Ivan Zalac 12,200
18 Kyle Cheong 12,200
19 Anatoly Parshenkov 12,200
20 Mitch Carle 12,200
21 Antonis Kambouroglou 9,800
22 Marcus Lau 9,800
23 Ricky Kroesen 9,800
24 Keiran Harris 9,800
25 Norah Greer 8,600
26 Mishel Anunu 8,600
27 Scott Peel 8,600
28 Koray Turker 8,600


Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

boxellVID.jpg boxellVID.jpg

More recent articles