Morris Takes It To The Limit at Aussie Millions

Posted at 21:17 2010-01-19

After a hyped weekend, the Crown Poker Room returned to a much more mellow atmosphere this week as the Aussie Millions settled into the regular schedule of preliminary events that provide such a fantastic range of games and tournament opportunities for players of all budgets.

Yesterday we saw 90 players front up for the $1,100 Limit Holdem event which was the third event of the schedule. At the end of the day the field had been reduced to just nine players who were all in the money and would return today at 4pm to battle it out for the title.

There were several players of note, but the talk surrounded the presence of David Steicke who we are used to seeing at final tables of the biggest buy-in tournaments in the world, rather than an $1,100 Limit Holdem event. But despite Limit Holdem not being his favourite poker discipline and entering as one of the final table’s shorter stacks, Steicke battled back from being nearly felted to surge to the chip leader with four players left. However a series of blows went against him and he departed in 4th place.

Jan Suchanek departed in 3rd place to leave Steve Krmpotic and Simon Morris to go heads up for the title. Krmpotic held a sizable chip lead but it was all one way traffic for Morris until his {Kc}{Js} caught good against Krmpotic’s {ad}{9d} when the board ran out {Jh}{2d}{6s}{7h}{9h} to hand him the title and $25,650 in prize money.

Final Table Results

1st Simon Morris - $25,650
2nd Steve Krmpotic - $18,000
3rd Jan Suchanek - $12,600
4th David Steicke - $9,000
5th Jim Sachinidis - $7,650
6th Amit Sheth - $6,300
7th Kerry Stead - $4,950
8th Josh Wilson - $3,600
9th Ciaran Carter - $2,250

Meanwhile 160 players took to the felt today for Day 1 of the $1,100 Pot Limit Omaha event – the 4th Championship event of the series. Plenty of big names were in attendance including Vanessa Selbst, Dani Stern, Annette Obrestad, Dan Shak, Leo Boxell, Grant Levy, Eric Assadourian, Emad Tahtouh, Gary Benson, Tony Bloom, Billy “The Croc” Argyros, Mel Judah, Michael Guttman, Jamie Pickering, Stewart Scott and defending PLO champion Lee Nelson.

With play schedule to continue until a final table was reached, it was local Con Angelakis who emerged as a runaway chip leader with 30 players still remaining at the dinner break. Others still in contention included Grant Levy, Oliver Gill, Tony Bloom, Annette Obrestad, Paul Taylor, Damien Elsing, Emad Tahtouh, Michael Guzzardi and Joe Cabret.

The final table will be held at 4pm tomorrow along with one of the more exciting events of the Aussie Millions – the $1,650 Feature Bounty Event which kicks off at 12:30pm. Stay tuned to PokerNews for all of your live updates from the tournament floor.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Simon Morris Wins the Limit Holdem Title! Simon Morris Wins the Limit Holdem Title!

More recent articles