Neilson Knows Best at APPT Sydney

Posted at 00:27 2010-12-09

It was a small field for Day 1b of the 2010 PokerStars.net APPT Grand Final as just 68 players hit the felt. That brings the total number of entrants to 143 so we’ll need at least 157 tomorrow to reach the 300 mark. This is significantly down on last year’s numbers, but with tournament numbers down worldwide, tournament organizers will be hoping to reach that 300 player barrier.

Today’s field was highlighted by PokerStars Team Pros Daniel Negreanu and Celina Lin, previous APPT champions Grant Levy, Martin Rowe, Eddy Sabat and Van Marcus, 2009 Aussie Millions champ Stewart Scott and WSOP bracelet winner Simon Watt.

Some who failed to reach Day 2 action included Van Marcus, David Steicke, Sheldon Mayer, Cole Swannack, Liam Moffett, Matthew Pearson, Martin Kozlov and Celina Lin who lost a race with ace-king against PokerStars qualifier Roel Pijpers’ pocket queens.

At the other end of proceedings, Aaron Tran was first to crack the 100k mark but he was overtaken in the late stages by the PokerNetwork Player of the Year leader Daniel Neilson.

Neilson’s red-hot 2010 form looks set to continue as he bagged up a massive 164,100 which will be hard to top tomorrow, despite the expected increase in numbers. Aaron Tran was comfortably in second place with 147,200 with Sean Dunwoodie a distant third with 95,400.

Grant Levy (92,900), Jay Kinkade (82,500), Eddy Sabat (79,200), Liam O’Rourke (65,700), Andy Hinrichsen (64,000) and WSOP bracelet winner Simon Watt (59,200) all enjoyed solid days on the felt and will come back on Friday with above average stacks.

Also safely through is Daniel Negreanu who was able to accumulate chips without too much difficulty to end the day with 57,400.

Brendon Rubie (46,700), Casey Kastle (45,400), Martin Rowe (24,100) and 2009 Aussie Millions champ Stewart Scott (18,500) were all part of the 39 survivors from today’s flight but they will have some work ahead of them on Day 2.

Tomorrow should see the likes of Joe & Tony Hachem, Jeff Lisandro, James Obst, Tyron Krost and 2003 World Champion Chris Moneymaker take to the Star City Poker Room felt with action to kick off at 12:30pm local time. For live updates head to PokerNews.com and PokerStarsBlog.com.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Daniel Neilson has done it again at the APPT Sydney Daniel Neilson has done it again at the APPT Sydney

More recent articles