Oliver Baux Wins The Crown Poker Room MAIN Event For $101,800

Posted at 08:00 2012-09-11 by Matthew Pitt

The Crown Poker Room, Melbourne was the venue for the MAIN Event, a superb tournament that ran over four days and finally came to an end on Sunday night.

By the time the registration desk had closed on Day 1b of the tournament there were a total of 461 players who had bought in. However, almost half of those failed in their quest to make it through to the official Day 2. Those 273 players who did manage to navigate through the minefield of a Day 1 flight were further reduced to just 50 hopefuls during Day 2.

The ten-handed final table was decided on Saturday night, with the final 10 players returning to their seats one last time on Sunday afternoon to play for the title and the significant remains of the prize pool. Each of the final table members sat down safe in the knowledge they had each locked up at least $11,200 for their efforts over the past week but they also knew that one of them was going to leave the Crown Poker Room with the massive $101,800 first place prize.

The hopes of Rebecca Catterwell were the first to be shattered as she was eliminated in tenth place and she was joined on the rail first by Marianne Crane and then by Con Diakovasilis, Adi Dahari, Aaron Pardue, Craig Ivey, Dave Brownlee and John Saratsopoulos.

According to the Online Poker.net site, Oliver Baux entered the heads-up stage with a three-to-one chip lead over John Mouawad and it took him just 10 hands to press home this significant advantage. The final hand saw Mouawad commit his stack with {A-}{Q-} on a {A-}{8-}{4-}{7-} board and Baux make the call with {10-}{5-}. As if by magic, the river was a six, completing Baux's straight and resigning Mouawad to the runner-up position. We are sure Mouawad's disappointment will have been quelled by the $61,800 he picked up for second place!

Congratulations to John Mouawad, the MAIN Event champion.

MAIN Event Final Table Results

1Oliver Baux$101,800
2John Mouawad$61,800
3John Saratsopoulos$46,800
4Dave Brownloee$36,800
5Craig Ivey$31,800
6Aaron Purdue$21,200
7Adi Dahari$14,200
8Con Diakovasilis$14,200
9Marianne Crane$11,200
10Rebecca Catterwell$11,200

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Crown Poker Room Crown Poker Room

Related Articles

More recent articles