Paul Mac Takes Down The Sapphire Series 2012 Main Event

Posted at 08:00 2012-07-24 by Matthew Pitt

After four long, intense days of poker action the champion of the Sapphire Series 2012 Main Event has been crowned. Step forward Paul Mac. In total 204 players rolled up to The Poker Room at the Burswood Entertainment Complex to play in the $1,100 buy-in No Limit Hold'em Main Event; but there could only ever be one winner.

Ben Williams' hopes of becoming the champion were left in tatters as he was the first of the 10 final tablists to crash out. He was followed to the sidelines by Barry Drysdale, Joe Chamoun and Chris Mounteney before Adam Smith, Paul Sharbanee, Ray Ellis and Nick Embury were all eliminated to leave Mac and Joon Hyun to battle it out one-on-one for the title.

Mac was the shortest stack with just five players remaining but he refused to panic and this calmness was rewarded when he finally defeated Hyun to get his hands on the winner's trophy and the huge $54,500 first place prize!

Congratulations to the Sapphire Series 2012 Main Event champion Paul Mac and a round of applause to the Burswood Entertainment Complex for running such a superb show.

Sapphire Series Main Event Final Table Payout

1Paul Mac$54,500
2Joon Hyun$34,000
3Nick Embury$25,000
4Ray Ellis$19,300
5Paul Sharbanee$14,200
6Adam Smith$9,600
7Chris Mounteney$6,500
8Joe Chamoun$4,900
9Barry Drysdale$3,850
10Ben Williams$3,850

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Paul Mac (Photo: Burswood Poker) Paul Mac (Photo: Burswood Poker)

Related Articles

More recent articles