PokerNetwork to Cover the 2013 Aussie Millions

Posted at 10:30 2012-12-22 by Rich Ryan

PokerNetwork will be providing exclusive, live updates from the Aussie Millions Poker Championship. The 2013 coverage will focus on the four marquee events: the $10,000 Main Event, $100,000 Challenge, $250,000 Challenge and $25,000 Challenge.

Beginning on Jan. 17, the 16th-annual Australian Poker Championship — better known as the Aussie Millions — will begin at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia. A total of 26 tournaments ranging from a A$600 to A$250,000 buy-in will be played, and a multitude of game types will be offered, including Pot-Limit Omaha, Pot-Limit Omaha Hi/Lo, Omaha Hi/Lo, Chinese Poker, Terminator No-Limit Hold’em, H.O.R.S.E., Mix Max and 8-Game.

Although they’ve become a bit of a trend lately, the Aussie Millions were the first to introduce the six-figure tournament to the circuit schedule. The inaugural $100,000 event was held in 2006, and the winner was John Juanda. Here’s a list of all of the winners:

Year Winner Prize Runner-Up Entrants
2006 John Juanda $1,000,000 Jeff Lisandro 10
2007 Erick Lindgren $1,000,000 Erik Seidel 18
2008 Howard Lederer $1,250,000 Mark Teltscher 25
2009 David Steicke $1,200,000 Tony Bloom 23
2010 Dan Shak $1,200,000 Phil Ivey 24
2011 Sam Trickett $1,525,000 Tony Bloom 38
2012 Dan Smith $1,012,000 Mikhail Smirnov 22

Beginning in 2011, the Aussie Millions also offered a A$250,000 Challenge. The tournament has only run twice, but both events created an unbelievable amount of buzz in the poker world.

Year Winner Prize Runner-Up Entrants
2011 Erik Seidel A$2,500,000 Sam Trickett 20
2012 Phil Ivey A$2,000,000 Patrik Antonius 16

While these two high-roller events generate a lot of excitement, the crown jewel of the Aussie Millions is the Main Event. Prior to 2003, the event was less than $10,000, and in 1999, the event was Pot-Limit Hold’em. Since 2003, the Aussie Millions Main Event has generated a 10-year total prize pool of $52,580,000. The winners in the five-figure buy-in era look like this:

Year Winner Prize Runner-Up Entrants
2004 Tony Bloom $426,500 Jesse Jones 133
2005 Jamil Dia $1,000,000 Mike Simkin 263
2006 Lee Nelson $1,295,800 Robert Neary 418
2007 Gus Hansen $1,500,000 Jimmy Fricke 747
2008 Alexander Kostritsyn $1,650,000 Erik Seidel 780
2009 Stewart Scott $2,000,000 Peter Rho 681
2010 Tyron Krost $2,000,000 Frederik Jensen 746
2011 David Gorr $2,000,000 James Keys 721
2012 Oliver Speidel $1,600,000 Kenneth Wong 659

If you live outside of Australia and want to buy-in to an event at the 2013 Aussie Millions before you take off, or you simply want to save a trip to the cage, you can register for the events online. If you’re interested in playing in a satellite for any of the events, you can check out the satellite schedule here. If you’re looking to plan your trip to the beautiful Crown Casino, we suggest that you explore the Crown Experience and weigh your booking options.

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Aussie Millions Aussie Millions

Related Articles