PokerStars and Monte-Carlo® Casino European Poker Tour Grand Final Day 3: Potijk Leads

Posted 16 days 20 hours ago by Donnie Peters

The PokerStars.com and Monte-Carlo® Casino European Poker Tour Grand Final Main Event stormed through Day 3 and only 26 players remain. It was a spectacular day on the felt and one that saw the bubble burst, the €100,000 Super High Roller winner make an extremely impressive deep run and Geert-Jan Potijk claim the chip lead with 1.32 million in chips.

When the day began, 130 players remained and the money line was set at 96. Due to a double elimination with one player falling at two separate tables during hand-for-hand play, Adam Levy was the bubble boy in 98th place. Andrew Badecker and Martin Finger were the two players eliminated during the same hand of hand-for-hand action and chopped up the €15,000 awarded to the first payout spot.

Six Team PokerStars Pros made the money on Day 3, but none of them advanced. Nacho Barbero, Angel Guillen, Sandra Naujoks, Max Martinez, Richard Toth and Matthias De Meulder all finished with a cash, but the dream of becoming EPT Grand Final champion is dead for this year.

De Meulder was all in with pocket queens and held the best of it against Jason Wheeler's pocket jacks. The Belgian Team Pro was in prime position for a double up, but a jack on the flop ended his run.

Other notables who were eliminated on the day, but in the money, included Bryan Piccioli, Guillaume Darcourt, Erik Seidel, Dominykas Karmazinas and Griffin Benger.

Justin Bonomo, the winner of the €100,000 Super High Roller just a couple of days ago, had a very impressive performance in the Main Event, but his quest ended in 28th place. Geert-Jan Potijk, Andrew Pantling and Bonomo played a big, three-way all-in pot on the feature table with Bonomo holding {A-}{Q-}, Pantling {A-}{K-} and Potijk {Q-}{Q-}. The queens held for Potijk as he doubled through Pantling and busted Bonomo.

End of Day 3 Top 10 Chip Counts

Place Player Chips
1 Geert-Jan Potijk 1,320,000
2 Bernard Guigon 1,212,000
3 Georges Dib 1,118,000
4 Andoni Larrabe 1,071,000
5 Ben Vinson 1,039,000
6 Lucille Cailly 999,000
7 Pratyush Buddiga 970,000
8 Anatoly Gurtovoy 945,000
9 Sergio Castelluccio 944,000
10 Vadzim Markushevski 922,000

The cards will be in the air for Day 4 beginning at 1200 CET (0300 PDT) and the PokerNews Live Reporting Team will be there to bring you all the action as the field grinds it out to the final table.

Follow PokerNetwork on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Geert-Jan Potijk Geert-Jan Potijk

More recent articles