PokerStars.net ANZPT Perth Main Event Day 1b: Josh Foster Leads

Posted at 09:01 2012-05-04 by Barry Gallagher

After Day 1a attracted just 89 runners there was some concern that ANZPT Perth could be a big disappointment turnout wise. However, 221 players made their way to the Burswood Entertainment Complex yesterday forcing organizers to use the overflow tables to accommodate the field. That leaves the total level of entries at 310 making it the largest ANZPT Perth of all time.

The winner will take home $78,275 for their efforts and the top 36 players will make the money. Just 94 players survived Day 1b and it was Josh Foster who bagged up the most chips with 143,500 to put him in the best position to make a run at the trophy. Joining with the 42 players who made it through Day 1a we will have 136 back tomorrow to fight it out towards the money bubble. Twenty-four of those remaining including four of the top six chips counts qualified online on Pokerstars.com.

According to the Pokerstars Blog who are covering the event the field was largely made up of locals yesterday but there was also some familiar faces from the ANZPT circuit including Kristina Griffith, Aaron Benton, Aaron Lim, Josh Barrett, Jesse McKenzie, Ted Nguyen, Mishel Anunu, Stev Lackovic, Steve Lindeblad, Anthony Aston, Michael Kanaan, Brian McAllister, Vesko Zmukic and recent ANZPT Sydney champion Gordon Huntly.

Bryan Huang was there to represent Team PokerStars making the relatively short hop from Singapore to Perth but his day ended when his {k-}{q-} for top pair was no good against a big blind special when his opponent flopped two pair with {5-}{3-} offsuit.

The 136 remaining players will be back in the Burswood Poker Room tomorrow with the goal to survive the day and get themselves into the money for the top 36 players. There are only three non-Australian’s left in the field so chances are very high that the cash will stay at home on this occasion!

ANZPT Perth Top 10 Chip Counts

1Josh Foster143,500
2Didier Guerin136,100
3Richard Mann122,200
4Mark Johnson111,900
5John Nicholas111,900
6Luke Millen104,000
7Tu Lee94,400
8Paul Ivankovich93,300
9Andrain Chin84,200
10Anthony Aston84,000

Follow PokerNetwork on Twitter and like us over on Facebook to stay up-to-date with all the latest news from Australia and around the poker world.

Win one of 100 seats to the PokerStars SCOOP Low Main Event and one of 10 seats to the PokerStars SCOOP Medium Main Event whilst helping yourself to a 100% match up to $600 first deposit. Don't foget to use the marketing code POKERNETWORK and the bonus code STARS600 to ensure you're eligible.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

ANZPT Perth (Photo: PokerStars Blog) ANZPT Perth (Photo: PokerStars Blog)

Related Articles

More recent articles