Stars & Legends on Show at ANZPT Sydney

read Read  

April 15 2011

Written to Australian poker news by TassieDevil

Syndicate content | 0 comments


"Jimmy Tran claimed the chip lead on Day 1b of the ANZPT Sydney Main Event"
April 15, 2011

Yesterday saw a near-capacity field of 241 players fill the Star City Poker Room for Day 1b of the ANZPT Sydney Main Event. It was a stellar lineup that was highlighted by Australian Poker Hall of Famers in Billy “The Croc” Argyros, Lee Nelson, Jeff Lisandro and Joe Hachem, along with Team PokerStars Pros Bryan Huang and reigning ANZPT Player of the Year Tony Hachem.

We also had two Aussie Millions champions in David Gorr and Tyron Krost, while some of the other names in the field included John Maklouf, Ricky Kroesen, Brendon Rubie, Micheal Pedley, Eric Assadourian,Tim English, Daniel Laidlaw, Jeff Rossiter, Michael Guzzardi, Sam Khouiss, Matthew Pilat, Nobbi Tanaka, Sean Dunwoodie, Dan Neilson, Johnathan Karamalikis, Aaron Benton, Brad Bower, Bruno Portaro, Nik Lackovic, Kent Hunter, Stevan Lackovic, Vesko Zmukic, Michael Mariakis, Ben Richardson, Ali Khalil, Manny Stavropoulos, Mitch Carle, Josh Barrett, ANZPT Melbourne champ Martin Kozlov, ANZPT Adelaide winner Octavian Voegele, ANZPT Perth champ Grant Levy and the ANZPT POTY leader Danny Chevalier.

There was some super tough tables with Daniel Neilson prominent on a table that included Sean Dunwoodie, Jonathan Karamalikis, Kris Cunz and Joe Hachem. While the 2005 World Champion was an early elimination, Neilson pounded on the table before a two-outer bad beat sent him back into the pack. No worries for Neilson, who shortly after flopped a Royal Flush holding A heartsK hearts to crack the pocket aces of Michael Mariakis! It was the second Royal Flush we’d seen in two days.

While Bryan Huang and Tony Hachem struggled, young Jimmy Tran was talking up a storm while raking in plenty of chips as he claimed the end of day chip lead. Jamal Ishac (122,050) and Josh Barrett (110,900) were the next best with Barrett coming back from a stack of just 11,000 at the last break. His secret? Peking duck!

120 players survived to reach Day 2 with the top ten chip counts as follows:

Jimmy Tran - 142475
Jamal Ishac - 122050
Josh Barrett (PokerStars Qualifier) - 110900
Dillion Hall - 110050
Mike Stecker (PokerStars Qualifier) - 100025
Michael O'Grady - 89375
Matthew Jeffrey - 86075
Tony Sama - 85875
Phillip Hiruwai - 84700
Hun Wei Lee - 79025

The remaining 185 players will come together in the Star City Poker Room for the first time at 12:30pm this afternoon as they look to get close to the top 45 players and the money. Live updates can be found throughout the day on the PokerStars Blog.

Bookmark and Share AddThis Feed Button mostviewed Send to Friend print Print  

Related articles

Poker Break

Poker Humour


Play Poker At PokerStars

Signup to PokerStars via our special PNW links, use our unique PokerStars Marketing Code POKERNETWORK and you will be eligible for a 100% up to $600 deposit bonus - In addition to this, you will be eligible to play in our exclusive freerolls that award seats to events such as the ANZPT and APPT.

Download PokerStars now!


SitemapPrivacy policyDisclaimer © 2011 PokerNews Ltd. All rights reserved