The ANZPT Hits Melbourne!

Posted at 01:21 2009-05-26
The 2009 Melbourne Poker Championships are starting to get to the business end of proceedings with one of the major event of series, the PokerStars.net ANZPT Melbourne taking centre stage in the Crown Poker Room today. 218 of Australia’s finest ponied up $2,700 for their chance at a place in Australian poker history.
The field was full of talent including PokerStars sponsored Lee Nelson, Celina Lin, Emad Tahtouh, Grant Levy, Tony Hachem and Eric Assadourian, previous ANZPT Champions Karl Krautscheider and Paren Arzoomanian, and young guns such as James Obst, Jay Kinkade, Jonathan Karamalikis, Ben Delaney and Dean Nyberg.
With some heavily stacked tables, a 20k start bank and generous structure, the pace of play would be slow in the early goings.   However Leo Boxell was the first casualty after taking a hit with pocket queens against pocket queens before running pocket kings into pocket aces!   ANZPT Sydney champ Paren Arzoomanian couldn’t make it back to back and was another early casualty.
PokerNetworker Heath “TassieDevil” Chick emerged as a clear chip leader and held that position until late in the day when Jai Gao came from the clouds with some huge pots, including the elimination of James Broom to take the end of day chip lead with over 250,000. Other notables to survive the day include Tino Lechich, Peter Aristidou, Sam Youssef, Tony Hachem, Grant Levy, Antonio Casale, Andrew Meldrum, Raj Ramakrishnan, Michael Guzzardi, Joel Dodds and Dennis Huntly.
Top 10 chip counts:
Jie Gao – 257,400
Heath Chick – 214,100
Chris Kittos – 146,000
Tino Lechich – 119,500
John Apostolidis – 113,000
Salvatore Fazzino – 109,900
Trevor Mccarthy – 109,100
Johnny Huynh – 105,100
Jarrod Graham – 103,300
Brent Thomas – 99,800
69 players survived the day with the top 18 set to finish with a profit while first place will be taking home a very tidy $158,050!
Play will resume at 12:10pm tomorrow as they play down to a final table. Stay locked into PokerNetwork for our continued live coverage from the PokerStars.net ANZPT Melbourne.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Chip Leader Jai Gao Chip Leader Jai Gao

More recent articles