Tom McEvoy Crowned Champion of Champions

Posted at 05:41 2009-06-04
Just in case there wasn’t enough action throughout all of the bracelet events at this year’s WSOP the Rio All-Suite Casino has found a way to jam a little bit more action into the series.
The World Champions Invitational was an invitational event for players who have claimed poker’s greatest prize - a World Series of Poker Main Event Bracelet.
There are only 25 Main Event Champions left alive and of them 20 showed up to compete in the event. There was no prize money on offer however the winner got to take home a very snazzy ‘Classic 1970 Corvette’.
The winner of the World Champions invitational was none other than 1983 World Champion Tom McEvoy. McEvoy holds four WSOP gold bracelets. Those victories came in Limit Hold’em (1983), Main Event (1983), Limit Razz (1986), and Limit Omaha (1992).
On top of the bracelets McEvoy currently has 38 WSOP in-the-money finishes. This ranks 20th on the all-time list (tied with three other players). McEvoy’s career WSOP earnings now total $1,284,611. Looking at all tournaments world wide McEvoy has been lucky enough to pick up in excess of $2 million in prize money.
In a post tournament interview McEvoy recalled “I told all my friends that I wanted to win this tournament more than anyone else, I think I have been losing some respect because I have not won in some time, and I wanted this to regain that respect.”
Well if it was respect that he wanted then respect that he will get. This is easily one of the toughest tournament fields ever assembled. A list of the players that were in the tournament and the year that they won the world championships are as follows.
1972 – “Amarillo Slim” Preston
1976/1977 – Doyle Brunson
1983 – Tom McEvoy
1986 – Berry Johnston
1987/1988 – Johnny Chan
1989 – Phil Hellmuth
1991 – Brad Daugherty
1993 – Jim Bechtel
1995 – Dan Harrington
1996 – Huck Seed
1998 – Scotty Nguyen
2000 – Chris “Jesus” Ferguson
2001 – Carlos Morstensen
2002 – Robert Varkonyi
2003 – Chris Moneymaker
2004 – Greg “Fossilman” Raymer
2005 – Joe Hachem
2006 – Jamie Gold
2007 – Jerry Yang
2008 – Peter Eastgate
One of the points of interest from this tournament is that when all of the players were introduced to the final table - Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson received the biggest cheer from the crowd. The capacity crowd cheered for all of the champions but it was Brunson who received an extended standing ovation.
The players finishing behind McEvoy on the final table finished as follows:
2nd Robert Varkonyi
3rd Dan Harrington
4th Jim Bechtel
5th Carlos Mortenses
6th Huck Seed
7th Berry Johnston
8th Doyle Brunson
9th Peter Eastgate
10th Phil Hellmuth
Another point of interest with the tournament took place on Day One. 2004 champ Greg “Fossilman” Raymer was entered in the World Champion Invitational however he was also playing on the final table of the $40,000 No Limit Holdem Championship. Raymer ran from one table to the other throughout the tournament and he will certainly go down in history as one of the first players to not just multi table live tournaments but to actually multi table live tournaments that are being recorded and televised!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Tom McEvoy Crowned WSOP Champion of Champions! Tom McEvoy Crowned WSOP Champion of Champions!

More recent articles