Tommy Vo Wins the 2012 Brisbane Poker Championship; Wins a Cool $49,913

Posted at 15:00 2012-12-18 by Brian Hurst

Tommy Vo was crowned the 2012 Brisbane Poker Championship’s champion this weekend after he outlasted a 133-strng field to get his hands on the $49,913 winner’s prize.

The 2012 Brisbane Poker Championship was held at the Treasury Hotel and Casino, Day 1a attracting 61 entrants (37 making it through to Day 2) and Day 1b welcoming 72 players (49 survived the day’s proceedings.) These players created a prize pool of $181,500 that was shared out between the top 15 finishers.

The 86 players who started Day 2 of the tournament with hopes of becoming a champion in Brisbane where whittled down to just 15. The 16th place finisher, and therefore the man to burst the bubble, was Amram Afaf. All Afaf received for his efforts in the 2012 Brisbane Poker Championship was a round of applause from his fellow players, but those who still had chips in front of them at the time of Afaf’s demise locked up a pay out of at least $3,176.

Day 3, the final day’s play in the tournament, took place on Sunday and saw the 15 surviving players rediced to just one, Tommy Vo. One-by-one the players fell by the wayside and with each elimination the prize on offer became more lucrative.

Eventually a seven-handed table was reached, Vo finding himself as the second shortest stack, but that obviously did not worry him; maybe it actually took some pressure off him? After Vo dispatched of Naj Azez in seventh place, he never looked back and started to dominated the final table. Azez was followed to the rail by Tim Field; Edwin Grimshaw; Minh Nguyen and Ant Bertsos, which set up a heads-up encounter with Cuong Le.

By this point in the tournament, Vo held a substantial chip lead over Le and it was not long before he pressed home his advantage and took down the tournament, leaving Le to pick up the consolation prize of $31,762.

2012 Brisbane Poker Championship Main Event Results

1Tommy Vo$49,913
2Cuong Le$31,762
3Ant Bertsos$18,604
4Minh Nguyen$15,428
5Edwin Grimshaw$12,705
6Tim Field$10,436
7Naj Ajez$8,621
8Alfred Saliba$6,806
9Mitch Carle$5,454
10Charles Caris$4,084
11Leigh Sheppard$4,084
12Jingyi Zhu$4,084
13Duncan McKinnon$3,176
14Phacharra Wongwichit$3,176
15Dave Conbay$3,176

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Related Articles

More recent articles