Tournament of Champions Event Announced for 2012 Aussie Millions

Posted at 12:08 2012-01-13

The 2012 Aussie Millions Poker Championship kicked off Thursday with the $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Opening Event. Crown officials told PokerNews that in celebration of the Aussie Millions’ 10th anniversary, a special Tournament of Champions will be held on Saturday, Jan. 21 — the day before the Main Event.

Tournament officials have confirmed that eight of the nine Aussie Millions champions will attend. Alexander Kostritsyn, 2008 winner, will not be able to attend.

The eight players who will attend are Peter Costa (2003), Tony Bloom (2004), Jamil Dia (2005), Lee Nelson (2006), Gus Hansen (2007), Stewart Scott (2009), Tyron Krost (2010), and David Gorr (2011).

The champions will compete for a “golden ticket,” which will award the winner a lifetime of buy-ins to the Aussie Millions Main Event.

“I’m really excited about having all of the former champions return to celebrate our 10th anniversary,” said Christian Vaughan, tournament director at Crown. “This will be the first time Jamil Dia has been back since his win in 2005 and we haven’t seen Peter Costa in many years. It’s thrilling to have all these great players under the same roof and battling it out for a lifetime freeroll at the Aussie Millions.”

The Aussie Millions runs through Jan. 30 and we'll be bringing you all the updates from the felt at Crown Casino.

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

More recent articles