HomeNews

WCOOP Kicks Off

Posted at 07:00 2006-09-16 PokerStars is hosting the 5th annual World Championship of Online Poker (WCOOP), which starts on Sunday 17th September at 06:30am AEST. The WCOOP is the biggest online poker tournament in the world, and with over $10 million in guarantees, it outstrips many live tournaments as well. There are eighteen different events in this year’s WCOOP. This year sees the introduction of Razz and also two HORSE events. The Razz event is the first on the calendar and costs $215 to enter with a $100,000 guarantee. There are two HORSE tournaments, the first has a $215 buyin with a $100,000, whilst the second has a buyin of $5,200 and a $100,000 guarantee. The $5,200 HORSE event is the most expensive in the WCOOP and it is expected to attract a high-calibre field. With other events in limit, pot-limit and no-limit holdem, omaha and omaha hi-lo, and seven-card stud, there is something for everybody. Buyins for these range from $215 to the $2600 No-Limit Holdem Main Event with $3,000,000 Guaranteed. In addition to some serious prizemoney, each of the eighteen event winners will also receive a free gold bracelet which will be specially engraved so they can remember their win. If you don’t make the final table, professional players from the PokerStars stable will be providing live radio commentary. You will be able to listen to Barry Greenstein, Greg Raymer, Chris Moneymaker, Tom McEvoy, Bill Chen and others provide their thoughts on the play. There are a number of cash and FPP satellites running for all events, check the PokerStars software for full details. Note: You can enter WCOOP events with PokerStars W$. PokerNews has a PokerStars currency exchange where you can buy W$ at a rate of 87.5%. This means you could enter the opening $215 Razz event for $188.00. 5th Annual PokerStars WCOOP Schedule (all times are Australian Eastern Standard Time) Sun Sep 17 06:30 - #1 $215 Razz $100,000 Guaranteed Mon Sep 18 06:30 - #2 $530 No Limit Hold’em $1,500,000 Guaranteed Tue Sep 19 05:00 - #3 $320 Pot Limit Omaha (Rebuys) $400,000 Guaranteed Wed Sep 20 05:00 - #4 $215 No Limit Hold’em Match Play $300,000 Guaranteed Thu Sep 21 05:00 - #5 $530 Limit Omaha Hi-Lo $300,000 Guaranteed Fri Sep 22 05:00 - #6 $215 No Limit Hold’em (Rebuys) $1,000,000 Guaranteed Sat Sep 23 05:00 - #7 $215 Limit Hold’em $200,000 Guaranteed Sun Sep 24 06:30 - #8 $215 HORSE $100,000 Guaranteed Sun Sep 24 06:30 - #9 $530 Pot Limit Hold’em $400,000 Guaranteed Mon Sep 25 06:30 - #10 $1,050 No Limit Hold’em $1,000,000 Guaranteed Tue Sep 26 05:00 - #11 $320 Seven Card Stud $100,000 Guaranteed Wed Sep 27 05:00 - #12 $320 Pot Limit Omaha Hi-Lo $200,000 Guaranteed Thu Sep 28 05:00 - #13 $320 Pot Limit Hold’em $400,000 Guaranteed Fri Sep 29 05:00 - #14 $530 Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo $200,000 Guaranteed Sat Sep 30 05:00 - #15 $530 Pot Limit Omaha $300,000 Guaranteed Sun Oct 1 06:30 - #16 $5,200 HORSE $100,000 Guaranteed Sun Oct 1 06:30 - #17 $1,050 Limit Hold’em $400,000 Guaranteed Mon Oct 2 06:30 - #18 $2,600 No Limit Hold’em $3,000,000 Guaranteed

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Related Articles

More recent articles