Western Classic Poker Championships - Des Anges Claims Title!

Posted at 16:22 2008-11-26
The $2,500 Western Classic Main Event concluded last week with Melbourne based Marc Des Anges being crowned champion, collecting a  healthy $100,000 and taking the coveted trophy back east!
A prize pool of over $300,000 was created when 139 players signed up for the event with 57 of those entrants starting Day 1A. With a generous structure and deep starting stack, only thirty players would be lost on the first day of play including Australian poker stalwarts Leo Boxell and Graeme “Kiwi G” Putt.
Day 1B would start added an additional 82 entrants but would play even faster than the previous day losing nearly twice the amount of players busting out. The likes of Martin Comer, Bruno Portaro, David Saab, Matthew Kirk, Mike Comer, Jay “Seabeast” Kinkade and Nino Marotta all fell short of a day two berth.
With 54 players returning on Day 2 they would be all striving to reach the final table, but local player Aleks Lackovic would be hard to catch holding a substantial chip lead over his nearest rivals when he unbagged his 178,100 chip stack.  Not far behind would be Marc Des Anges (113,000), Singaporean Diwei Huang (89,400) and Paul Sharbanee (81,700).
Play started fast as the short stacks looked to double up again and again so they could sneak into the top 15 payouts.  Michael Pedley and Shane Moran would head out the door before Zian Zheng was unfortunate to become the bubble boy.
Starting the day in the bottom half of the field, West Australian Kent Hunter would sneak into the money placing in 13th place for $3,197. This was Kent’s seventh cash for the year after cash results at the WSOP, Bellagio Cup, Vic Champs, APT Macau and PokerNews Cup.
Singaporean student Diwei “Bryan” Huang continued his hot form by placing a respectable 6th for $19,182.  With three consecutive cashes in the APPT main events of Macau, Seoul and Auckland and then a 16th place finish in the recent PokerNews Cup, Huang is one of the hottest players on the Asian circuit and will head to the APPT Sydney event full of confidence.
Beginning the day as chip leader, Aleks Lackovic’s run would come to an end when he was eliminated in 4th place, with Ben Vermey collecting $36,765 for his 3rd place finish. This left Marc Des Anges and Micah Martinovich to battle it out heads up for the trophy, with Des Anges getting the upper hand and claiming the $100,000 first place prize. Martinovich collects a tidy $60,745 for his efforts.
Full Results:
1st – Marc Des Anges ($100,000)
2nd – Micah Martinovich ($60,745)
3rd – Ben Vermey ($36,765)
4th – Aleks Lackovic ($27,175)
5th – Dominic Sinagra ($22,380)
6th – Diwei Huang ($19,182)
7th – Paul Sharbanee ($15,985)
8th – Nik Lackovic ($9,591)
9th – Karl Savimaki ($6,777)
10th – Nicholas Quayle ($5,115)
11th – Simon Adams ($3,197)
12th – John Corr ($3,197)
13th – Kent Hunter ($3,197)
14th – Trish Dewey ($3,197)
15th – Paul Webster ($3,197)
Congratulations to Anthony Tetlaw and his staff at Burswood Casino for a tremendously successful event. West Australia’s largest ever poker tournament was well supported and bodes well for poker in Perth into the future.


Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Western Classic Poker Championships - Marc Desanges Claims Title! Western Classic Poker Championships - Marc Desanges Claims Title!

More recent articles