Williams Wins WPT World Championship

Posted at 11:47 2010-04-26

The eighth season of the World Poker Tour has come to an end, with David Williams capturing the title in the season-ending WPT World Championship. Williams overcame a world-class field of 195 players to take home the $1,530,537 first-place prize.

After Phil Hellmuth was infamously busted on the bubble of another televised final table, Williams had to get past John O’Shea, Billy Baxter, David Benyamine and Shawn Buchanan before confronting Eric Baldwin heads-up for the championship.

Williams took a three-to-one chip lead into the heads-up battle and never surrendered that advantage. In the final hand Williams raised to 500,000 before Baldwin put all his chips in the middle, making it 4,765,000 for Williams to call. Williams thought for a minute before making the call and flipping over deuces, and he was just ahead of Baldwin's {Ah}{5h}.

The flop fell {Ad}{7c}{6s} to give lead to Baldwin, but the turn was a magical {2h} to give Williams an unbeatable set. When the river bricked, Baldwin was left to collect $1,034,715 for his runner-up finish as Williams grabbed his first-ever WPT title.

When Shawn Buchanan was eliminated in third place it left Faraz Jaka as the winner of the 2010 WPT Player of the Year, with five cashes including a 14th place in this event and two final tables during the year. He joins Bertrand "ElkY" Grospellier, Jonathan Little, J.C. Tran, Gavin Smith, Daniel Negreanu, Erick Lindgren and Howard Lederer as the previous winners of the WPT POY.

1st Place:   David Williams - $1,530,537
2nd Place:   Eric Baldwin - $1,034,715
3rd Place:   Shawn Buchanan - $587,906
4th Place:   David Benyamine - $329,228
5th Place:   Billy Baxter - $246,921
6th Place:  John O'Shea - $199,888

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

David Williams Wins WPT Championship David Williams Wins WPT Championship

More recent articles