Wilson Leads Aussie Millions Opening Event Final Table

Posted at 01:04 2012-01-16

Day 2 of the 2012 Aussie Millions Opening Event unexpectedly came to an end with ten players, forgoing the original plan of playing to a winner. At the start of the day, players were settled in for a long grind, but as the night wore on, tournament officials decided to call an audible and opted to come back the following day. With the final table set, Scott Wilson leads the way with 2.628 million and stands the best chance of capturing the $200,000 first-place prize.

The Opening Event was unique in that it featured three starting flights, known as a “repchage” format; meaning players who busted in earlier flights were able to reenter in the following. The first starting flight, Day 1a, drew 274 players, while Day 1b a bit less at 251; however, Day 1c boosted the number as 421 entries made the three-day total 946 players. With a $946,000 at stake, the remaining 132 players who started Day 2 were eager to crack the top 81 for a guaranteed payday.

Unfortunately for some, they were unable to make it through the money bubble. Among the the early departed was the defending champion, Martin Drewe, and poker legend Mel Judah, who happened to be eliminated in the same hand. Others who feel excruciatingly short were Darren Kramer, Andrew Hinrichsen, Jeff Rossiter, Mark Segal, and Aaron Benton. When the money bubble did finally burst, a slew of eliminations occurred that included Malcolm McDougall (81st-$2,500), Jay Kinkade (72nd-$3,000), Joel Dodds (52nd-$4,000), Grant Levy (41st-$4,500), Billy Jordanou (38th-$4,500), and Kenna James (31st-$5,000).

The Day 1b chip leader, Sam Youssef, managed to use his big stack to coast deep into the money, but ended up being the first of the end-of-the-day chip leaders to fall. It happened when the blinds caught up with him and he got his short stack all in preflop holding {q-Spades}{7-Diamonds} against the {a-Spades}{3-Hearts} of Brendon Rubie. The board ran out {8-Clubs}{a-Clubs}{8-Spades}{k-Clubs}{a-Hearts} and Youssef was eliminated in 21st place, taking home $6,200 for his effort. A short time later, Day 1c chip leader and the big stack at the start of the day, Tony Delavinias, was eliminated in 15th place for $7,600, leaving Tam Truong as the last opening flight chip leader standing.

Leading up to the final table, several players hit the rail including Andrew Capelin (14th), Stefan Jedlicka (13th), Tony Kociski (12th), and Matviy Bilenky (11th), all of whom took home $7,600.

Here’s a look at the final table of the 2012 Crown’s Aussie Millions Poker Championship Opening Event:

Final Table

Seat Player Chips
1 Tam Truong 934,000
2 Tamara Volkoff 191,000
3 Brendon Rubie 1,625,000
4 Sean Robey 262,000
5 Sherif Derias 696,000
6 Rob Angood 1,384,000
7 Scott Wilson 2,628,000
8 Manny Stavropoulos 554,000
9 John Thomson 363,000

*All payout are in Australian dollars


Words by Chad Holloway


Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

More recent articles