Nomination Process Open for 2013 Poker Hall of Fame

Posted at 16:50 2013-07-07 by Pamela Maldonado

The World Series of Poker has opened the nominations for the Poker Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

The Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two new members annually and holds a ceremony in conjunction with the final table of the Main Event. This year’s final table will take place in November. To date, the Hall of Fame includes 40 members, including Johnny Moss, Bill Boyd, Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson, Doyle Brunson, Benny Binion, David “Chip” Reese, Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston, Stu “The Kid” Ungar, Johnny Chan, Bobby Baldwin, and Phil Hellmuth. Last year, Eric Drache and Brian “Sailor” Roberts were added to the prestigious club.

The main criteria for the WSOP Hall of Fame are as follows:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

The public will be able to nominate a player for consideration beginning Wednesday, July 3, with nominations closing Aug. 15. Once the list of nominated individuals is complete, a nominating committee will review all submissions and determine a final list of eligible candidates. The two finalists who receive the most votes, as long as they are a majority, will be inducted during the enshrinement ceremony in November.

Last year’s nominees who didn’t make the Class of 2012 were Chris Bjorin, Thor Hansen, George Hardie, Jennifer Harman, John Juanda, Tom McEvoy, and Scotty Nguyen.

To submit your nominations, visit WSOP.com.

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

More recent articles