Girl Power at ANZPT Melbourne

Posted at 11:02 2010-10-11

If you’re a die-hard poker fan, you’d be used to the rollercoaster-ride experience you get on any poker tournament. However, we’re not sure that even the experienced team behind the media desk could have even fathomed what unfolded yesterday during Day 2 of the ANZPT Melbourne Main Event.

105 resumed their quest for poker glory yesterday and it didn’t take long for players to start hitting the rail, with plenty of big names such as Aussie poker stalwarts Bruno Portaro, Antonis ‘Toothpick Tony’ Kambouroglou, John Delassandri and ‘Action’ Dave Morton. Young guns Alex ‘Banana Thief’ Brkovic, Liam ‘RAWKZ’ O’Rourke and Oliver Gill were also sent packing on moving day, as well as PokerNetwork reporter Ed ‘Max_Power’ Fogarty.

Team PokerStars Pros Lee ‘Final Table’ Nelson and Tony Hachem also fell by the wayside as we approached the money. It was particularly frustrating for Hachem as he made it three-quarters of the way through the field before being eliminated short of the money and precious player points, throwing the 2010 ANZPT Player of the Year race wide open with only one stop to go.

Once Jim Andreadis burst the bubble, the action picked up once again with plenty of notables making it inside the top 36, including Karib Karib (34th), Dennis Huntly (32nd), 2008 APPT Sydney champion Martin Rowe (24th), reigning Aussie Millions champion Tyron Krost (15th) and Danny Silk (12th). There was also not one, but two pay-jump chops yesterday, firstly between Aussie poker stalwarts Michael Pedley and Graeme 'Kiwi G' Putt (eq. 27th) and 2010 ANZPT Player of the Year contenders Andrew Scarf and Daniel Neilson (eq. 18th). Such an occurrence had never happened in a major Australian poker tournament up before.

With ANZPT Commissioner Danny McDonagh calling time after 10 levels, we now have just 11 players returning today, each with their own big twist to this ANZPT story. James ‘Andy_McLEOD’ Obst, fresh from his PokerStars WCOOP Player of the Series victory, is now on track to take his fine form into yet another huge live result. Only one Kiwi – Joe Allis – remains in the Main Event, while giant killer Ryan McKay is in great shape for a breakthrough win.

But perhaps the biggest story of the day came just before the players bagged and tagged – that of Kristina Jeney, the first woman to top the chip counts going into the final day of play with 960,000. We could also see two female players at an ANZPT final table for the first time, with Amanda De Cesare still in the mix.

The eleven players listed below will all return at 12.30pm AEDST for the conclusion of the 2010 ANZPT Melbourne Main Event and PokerNetwork will once again be ringside to bring you live updates. Be sure to join us then!

2010 ANZPT Melbourne - Day 3 Seating Allocations & Chip Counts

Table 29

Seat 3: Martin Koslov - 114,000
Seat 5: Kristina Jeney - 960,000
Seat 6: Daniel Laidlaw - 274,000
Seat 7: Amanda De Cesare - 335,000
Seat 8: Ryan McKay - 612,000

Table 31

Seat 1: Ted Nguyen - 410,000
Seat 4: David Chilcott - 657,000
Seat 5: Ben Savage - 760,000
Seat 6: Raj Ramakrishnan - 672,000
Seat 7: Joe Allis (NZ) - 554,000
Seat 8: James Obst - 798,000

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Kristina Jeney leads into Day 3 of the ANZPT Melbourne Main Event Kristina Jeney leads into Day 3 of the ANZPT Melbourne Main Event

Related Articles

More recent articles