Allan Le Wins Manila Millions

Posted at 23:39 2012-04-23 by Matthew Pitt

Asia's richest tournament was completed over the weekend, a HKD $1 million (USD$128,000) buy-in event dubbed the Manila Millions, at the APT Philippines festival and it was US-based Allan Le who took it down despite some of the biggest names in the business participating.

Thirty-one players decided to enter the record-breaking event including Phil Ivey, John Juanda, Tom Dwan, 10-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner Johnny Chan, Winifred Yu, Tommy Le, Elton Tsang along with APT Ambassadors Joe Hachem, JC Tran and Nam Le. Amazingly, none of these big names made it into the money places.

After Keith Kipson (fifth), Richard Yong (fourth) and Sun Sheng (third) had all been eliminated it left China's Devan Tang and Allan Le to fight it out for the title of Manila Millions champion. The pair started almost level in chips though Le held a narrow chip advantage over his opponent; but the chip lead swapped hands on several occasions.

The last hand of the tournament saw Tang move all in with {K-Diamonds}{7-Spades} and Le make an easy call with {Q-Clubs}{Q-Hearts}. The flop came down {4-Clubs}{A-Diamonds}{8-Diamonds} keeping the queens in front and when the turn and river were the {4-Spades} and {A-Hearts} respectively Tang was eliminated and Le had taken down the historical event!

Manila Millions Payouts

PositionNamePrize (HKD)
1Allan Le$13,080,000
2Devan Tang$8,175,000
3Sun Sheng$4,905,000
4Richard Yong$3,597,000
5Keith Kipson$2,943,000

Follow PokerNetwork on Twitter and like us on Facebook for all the latest poker news!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Allan Le - Manila Millions Winner Allan Le - Manila Millions Winner

Related Articles

More recent articles