Brotha D Wins APPT Auckland Main Event!

Posted at 22:57 2010-09-19

The final day of the 2010 PokerStars.net APPT Auckland Main Event saw nine hopefuls hit the felt of the SKYCITY Auckland Poker Room for their shot at making poker history. With the final table made up of representatives from five different nations, it was going to be a challenge for the host nation to keep their biggest poker title on home soil.

Most of their hopes rested with overnight chip leader Danny "Brotha D" Leaoasavaii, and boy, he didn’t let them down. The 40-year old “Godfather of New Zealand hop hop” put in a heroic performance to claim a memorable victory over a talented final table lineup.

The day started with a flurry of activity as Leo Boxell was cruelly eliminated in 9th place when his pocket aces were cracked by the ace-king of Danny Silk when two more kings fell on board. The dangerous Noah Vogelman and Spanish qualifier Santi Soriano Ramos were next to go, before the Kiwis lost their first player when Ropati Toleafoa missed his flush draw to be eliminated in 6th.

Tamas Lendvai battled hard but couldn’t get going as Danny Silk’s luck ran out in 4th place. Srdjan Mitrovic survived to reach 3rd place as Australian Tom Grigg and Brotha D entered heads-up play nearly dead even in chips.

The heads-up battle was epic, with the chip lead swapping on numerous occasions. After four hours of heads-up play Brotha D gained the ascendency, and when his ace-king held against the jack-ten of Tom Grigg, it was all over.

After winning his way into this tournament via a SKYCITY Auckland Celebrity Challenge, Brotha D had defeated 218 of the world’s best players to claim a memorable victory and NZ$170,000 in prize money.

1st: Danny 'Brotha D' Leaoasavaii (New Zealand) - $170,000
2nd: Tom Grigg, PokerStars Qualifier (Australia) - $107,900
3rd: Srdjan Mitrovic, PokerStars Qualifier (New Zealand) - $60,500
4th: Danny Silk, PokerStars Qualifier (Australia) - $49,050
5th: Tamas Lendvai, PokerStars Qualifier (Hungary) - $40,900
6th: Ropati Toleafoa (New Zealand) - $34,300
7th: Santi Soriano Ramos, PokerStars Qualifier (Spain) - $27,800
8th: Noah Vogelman, PokerStars Qualifier (United States) - $21,250
9th: Leo Boxell (Australia) - $16,350

PokerNetwork’s Lynn Gilmartin caught up with Brotha D and Tom Grigg following the final table, as well as taking a look back on the week that was the APPT Auckland.

The next stop on the APPT tour is to Cebu in the Philippines in November, but before then the PokerNetwork team will be hard at work at the ANZPT events in Melbourne and Darwin. Download Pokerstars and start qualifying today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment

Brotha D Wins APPT Auckland! Brotha D Wins APPT Auckland!

Related Articles

More recent articles