Who are the Biggest Winners on the ANZPT Since its Creation?

Posted at 10:45 2013-03-07 by Matthew Pitt

With the PokerStars Australia New Zealand Poker Tour (ANZPT) Sydney festival just days away, PokerNetwork thought it would be a good idea to take a look at the ANZPT history books and see what we could pull out of them.

You need to cast your mind back to February 2009 for the inaugural ANZPT event; can you remember where it took place? The very first ANZPT event was held in Adelaide where 215 player exchanged $3,000 for the chance to become an ANZPT champion. That honour was bestowed on Karl Krautschneider who defeated Tony “Bond_18” Dunst heads-up to get his hands on the $170,215.00 first place prize.

Next up was the ANZPT Sydney Main Event, which is still the biggest ANZPT main event in the tour’s history. A massive crowd of 493 players each bought in for $2,200 and created a prize pool of $986,000 – just shy of the magical one million dollars mark. The eventual champion was Paren Arzoomanian who picked up the largest prize awarded so far on the ANZPT, $246,500.

In fact Arzoomanian’s massive cash haul back in 2009 is enough to place him at the top of the ANZPT all-time money listings. His $246,500 is just under $20,000 more than the man in second place, Gordon Huntly and his $226,812 in winnings.

The money listings reads like a who’s who of Australian and New Zealand poker, and so it should because the ANZPT is the premier tour in the region. The likes of Lee Nelson ($158,050), Liam O’Rourke ($144,754), Tony Hachem ($132,750), Grant Levy ($131,500), James Obst ($124,000), Rickey Kroessen ($116,235), Michael Guzzardi ($112,000) and your former PokerNetwork Editor Heath Chick ($103,550) have all amassed six-figures in ANZPT winnings.

The ANZPT is now into its fifth season, with the next leg taking place at The Star Casino in Syndey. The festival runs March 13-24 with the main event March 21-24. PokerNetwork will have a team on the ground for the main event, bringing you the very best in live tournament updates.

ANZPT Top 10 Money Winners

1Paren Arzoomanian$246,500
2Gordon Huntly$226,812
3Angelo Hamataj$219,432
4Michael Kanaan$195,714
5Martin Kozlov$195,700
6Nauv Kashyap$182,965
7Karl Krautschneider$170,215
8Scott Kerr$168,075
9Rennie Carnevale$165,900
10Lisa Walsh$162,690

Satellites for the ANZPT Sydney Main Event are still available in the PokerStars lobby. Download PokerStars via PokerNetwork, enter the marketing code POKERNETWORK when creating your account and the bonus code STARS600 when making your first deposit and you will be entitled to a 100% match up to $600 first deposit bonus.

Get all the latest PokerNetwork updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to post one!

Register to leave a comment


Related Articles

More recent articles